Retour

Nuclear energy

ENGIE has been a pioneer in nuclear energy for more than 55 years and is one of the rare European groups which has first rate skills all along the nuclear value chain: engineering, development, purchasing, construction and installation, operating and maintenance, nuclear fuel cycle, radioactive waste management, decommissioning and clean-up. Nuclear at ENGIE means 9000 highly motivated and committed employees with very specific skills, 7000 of whom work in the areas of engineering and services. 

 

The Group recognizes that nuclear energy is a source of electricity emitting little CO2, providing a high availability factor with easy access to fuel, significantly contributing to the energy transition in countries which have made the choice and to the objectives for the reduction of greenhouse gases. 

 

With this strong conviction, ENGIE intends to remain as a major player in this industry and its strategy rests on 2 major priorities: 

 

  • Operating its nuclear power stations in Belgium 

 

ENGIE Electrabel operates 7 nuclear reactors in Belgium: 4 in Doel and 3 in Tihange. Today, the Group plans to operate these seven reactors until 2024-2025. It is prepared to extend the operation of some or all of these plants beyond that date, in compliance with the highest safety standards, if the technical, economic and legal conditions allow this.  

 

  • Developing its service activities

 

In addition to its substantial experience as an operator, ENGIE can also rely on its many engineering and nuclear service subsidiaries. It can provide its expertise not only to existing nuclear plants (in the areas of maintenance and extending operational lifetime), but also to planned new nuclear power stations, as well as in the decommissioning and radioactive waste management markets. 

 

To support these 2 strategic priorities, ENGIE conducts a proactive approach in terms of nuclear safety and skills and talent management with a concern for continuous improvement. In addition, ENGIE develops partnerships with major companies active in the nuclear industry and pursues Research and Innovation activities. 

 

The role of nuclear power in the energy transition

 

Nuclear energy contributes significantly to the energy transition, in countries which have made the choice, and to the objectives of the COP21 for a reduction of greenhouse gas emissions: 

 

  • Nuclear energy is a proven, reliable technology which produces a large amount of relative adaptable electricity with a high rate of availability, while generating little CO2.
  • It contributes to energy independence for a country through uranium procurement stability, the limited amount of fuel required for energy production and low exposure to the price of raw materials compared to fossil fuels. Once the power plant is built and operational, it can be an economically profitable solution with its predictable and stable costs.
  • Existing nuclear installations, particularly in Europe, contribute to a low carbon, diversified energy mix, advantageously supplementing renewable energy sources.

Retour

Nucléaire

Pionnier dans le nucléaire depuis plus de 55 ans, ENGIE est l’un des rares groupes européens qui dispose de compétences de premier ordre sur toute la chaîne de valeur nucléaire : ingénierie, développement, achats, construction et installation, exploitation et maintenance, cycle du combustible nucléaire, gestion des déchets radioactifs, démantèlement et assainissement. Le nucléaire chez ENGIE, ce sont 9.000 collaborateurs motivés et engagés, avec des compétences très spécifiques, dont 7.000 d’entre eux sont actifs dans les activités d’ingénierie et de services.

 

Le Groupe reconnaît que l’énergie nucléaire, source d’électricité émettant peu de C02, jouissant d’un facteur de disponibilité élevé et d’un accès aisé au combustible, contribue de manière significative, dans les pays qui ont fait ce choix, à la transition énergétique et aux objectifs de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

 

Fort de cette conviction, ENGIE entend rester un acteur majeur dans cette industrie et sa stratégie repose sur 2 grands axes :

 

  • L’exploitation de son parc nucléaire en Belgique

 

ENGIE Electrabel exploite 7 réacteurs nucléaires en Belgique, 4 à Doel et 3 à Tihange. Aujourd’hui, le Groupe dispose d’une visibilité sur l’exploitation de ces 7 réacteurs jusqu’en 2024-2025. Il est prêt à prolonger l’exploitation de tout ou partie de ces unités au-delà de cette date, dans le respect des normes de sûreté les plus élevées, et si les conditions techniques, économiques et légales le permettent

 

  • Le développement de ses activités de service

 

Outre sa solide expérience d’exploitant, ENGIE peut compter sur ses nombreuses entités d’ingénierie et de services au nucléaire et peut offrir ses compétences tant aux parcs nucléaires existants (opération de maintenance et de prolongation de la durée d’exploitation), que pour les projets de nouvelles installations nucléaires ainsi que sur le marché du démantèlement et de la gestion des déchets.

 

Pour soutenir ces 2 axes stratégiques, ENGIE mène une politique proactive en matière de sûreté nucléaire et de gestion des compétences et des talents dans un soucis d'amélioration continue. En outre, ENGIE développe des partenariats avec de grandes entreprises actives dans le nucléaire, et poursuit des activités en Recherche et Innovation.  

 

Le rôle du nucléaire dans la transition énergétique 

 

L’énergie nucléaire contribue de manière significative, dans les pays qui ont fait ce choix, à la transition énergétique et à l'atteinte des objectifs de la COP21 pour une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre:

 

  • L’énergie nucléaire est une technologie éprouvée, fiable, qui produit une grande quantité d’électricité relativement modulable, avec un taux de disponibilité élevé, tout en générant peu de CO2;
  • Elle contribue à l’indépendance énergétique d'un pays par la stabilité d’approvisionnement de l'uranium, la quantité limitée de combustible nécessaire à la production d’énergie et une faible exposition au prix des matières premières par rapport aux sources fossiles. Une fois la centrale construite et opérationnelle, elle peut constituer une solution économiquement rentable par des coûts prévisibles et stables ;
  • Les installations nucléaires existantes, particulièrement en Europe, contribuent à un mix énergétique diversifié bas carbone, complétant avantageusement les sources d'énergie renouvelable.