Alternative text

ENGIE x HyNetherlands

How to create a carbon-free ecosystem thanks to green hydrogen

By ENGIE - 21 October 2021 - 10:00

Located in a region that is home to the chemical industry and that plans to put an end to the extraction of natural gas, the Eems electricity power plant intends to decarbonize its output. Renewable hydrogen from the renewable energy produced by off-shore wind farms, which are the driving force behind long-term sustainable industry and mobility in the Netherlands, is at the heart of the proposal on offer from the HyNetherlands project. 

 

The ENGIE solution consists of creating a complete green hydrogen value chain that contributes to the decarbonization of industry and heavy mobility in the north-east of the Netherlands. 

 

The HyNetherlands project, which was launched in 2019 and is due to become operational in 2025, represents a major milestone in the history of renewable hydrogen in the Netherlands. On the site of the Eems electricity power plant, ENGIE plans to build a 100-MW electrolysis unit, which will be five times larger than anything that already exists on the market. The facility will be powered by the renewable electricity produced by the offshore wind farms in the North Sea. ENGIE, and its partner Gasunie, which is tasked with transporting and storing the hydrogen in local salt caverns, will ship the hydrogen to the nearby chemical plants, which will use it as a raw material to decarbonize their output. The hydrogen will also provide fuel for heavy goods vehicles and local passenger trains. 

 

An ambitious road map

The strength of HyNetherlands lies in the step-by-step deployment of a massive electrolysis unit. By 2025, the electrolysis unit will boast a power of 100 MW, which could grow to 1.85 GW by 2030. This project is also innovating by introducing a renewable hydrogen value chain into the Dutch energy system (primary energy and raw materials). The power plant can rely on the supply of green electricity, in view of the high development potential of the off-shore wind farms. 

A change of scale that will cut costs

Thanks to the scale of the project, ENGIE and its partner are helping to cut the cost of renewable hydrogen, which is currently four to five times higher than the cost of grey hydrogen. This is the essential prerequisite for its development on a large scale, even if it has received strong support from European and national instances, as part of the drive to reach carbon neutrality by 2050. The hydrogen economy also creates local jobs, a fact that constitutes an additional argument in favour of the implementation of HyNetherlands, and for the European Union, in view of its ambition to increase its energy independence and to promote short energy circuits. 

“ENGIE has brought together the different skills in the Group required to develop this exceptional project. HyNetherlands will connect the massive offshore wind power resources to domestic industry and heavy transport using the transport capacities and storage capacities in salt caverns of our partner Gasunie.  In this respect, HyNetherlands is the precursor of a future European hydrogen hub.”
Grégory Bartholomé, HyNetherlands Project Manager

 

 

Key figures

  • The world’s largest electrolysis unit in terms of capacity (100 MW) (data in September 2021)
  • Capacity to produce 1.85 GW of renewable hydrogen in the future on the site of the Eems electricity power plant.
  • 2025: start-up of the production of 15 ktonnes of renewable hydrogen per year.
  • 2 Mt of CO2 avoided by 2035 in the upstream production of hydrogen and oxygen, or 10% of the national effort required to reach the targets set by the 2050 European Green Deal.

Alternative text

ENGIE x HyNetherlands

Comment mettre en place un écosystème décarboné grâce à l’hydrogène vert ?

Par ENGIE - 21 octobre 2021 - 09:43

Dans une région d’industrie chimique qui prévoit de mettre fin à l’extraction du gaz naturel, la centrale électrique d’Eems souhaite décarboner sa production. Au cœur de la proposition du projet HyNetherlands figure l’hydrogène renouvelable grâce aux ENR des éoliennes en mer, moteurs d’une industrie et d’une mobilité pérenne et durable aux Pays-Bas. 

 

La solution ENGIE : mettre sur pied une chaîne de valeur complète d’hydrogène vert et contribuer ainsi à la décarbonation des industries et de la mobilité lourde au nord-est des Pays-Bas. 

 

Entamé en 2019 pour un démarrage opérationnel en 2025, le projet HyNetherlands est un jalon majeur dans l’histoire de l’hydrogène renouvelable en Hollande. ENGIE va construire sur le site de la central électrique d’Eems un électrolyseur de 100 MW – soit cinq fois la taille existant sur le marché. L’installation sera alimentée par la production d’électricité renouvelable des champs éoliens offshore de la Mer du Nord. ENGIE et son partenaire Gasunie – en charge du transport et stockage de l’hydrogène en cavités salines locales – vont acheminer cet hydrogène vers les industries chimiques avoisinantes qui l’utiliseront comme matière première pour décarboner leur production. L’hydrogène alimentera également en carburant les poids lourds ainsi que des trains de passagers de la région.

 

Une feuille de route ambitieuse

La force de HyNetherlands réside dans le déploiement étape par étape, d’un électrolyseur de taille massive. Ainsi l’électrolyseur aura une puissance de 100 MW en 2025 mais qui pourra atteindre 1,85 GW à partir de 2030. Autre innovation, ce projet permet d’intégrer une chaîne de valeur de l’hydrogène renouvelable dans le système énergétique hollandais (énergie primaire et matière première). Ainsi, la centrale peut compter pour son alimentation en électricité verte sur le potentiel de développement important des champs d’éoliennes en mer. 

Changer d’échelle pour faire baisser les coûts

Par l’ampleur du projet, ENGIE et son partenaire contribuent à faire baisser les prix de l’hydrogène renouvelable, actuellement 4 à 5 fois plus cher que l’hydrogène gris. Cette donnée est la condition sine qua non de son développement à grande échelle, même si son émergence est fortement soutenue par les instances européennes et nationales, dans l’optique d’atteindre la neutralité carbone en 2050. L’économie de l’hydrogène est par ailleurs pourvoyeuse d’emplois à l’échelon local, un argument supplémentaire pour la mise en œuvre de HyNetherlands, et pour l’Union européenne dans son ambition de renforcer son indépendance énergétique et favoriser les circuits courts de l’énergie

« ENGIE a rassemblé des compétences diverses au sein du Groupe afin de développer ce projet hors normes. HyNetherlands permettra de connecter les gisements massifs d´éolien offshore à l´industrie et à la mobilité lourde au niveau national, au travers des capacités de transport de stockage en cavités salines de notre partenaire Gasunie. En ce sens, le projet HyNetherlands préfigure un futur Hub hydrogène européen. »
Grégory Bartholomé, Project Manager HyNetherlands

 

 

Chiffres-clés

  • 1er électrolyseur dans le monde en termes de capacité (100 MW) (donnée à septembre 2021)
  • 1,85 GW de capacité de production d’hydrogène renouvelable prévues dans le futur sur le site de la centrale électrique d’Eems.
  • 2025 : mise en service de la production d’hydrogène renouvelable de 15 ktonnes par an.
  • 2 Mt de CO2 évités d´ici 2035 sur la production amont d´Hydrogène et Oxygène, soit 10 % de l´effort national pour atteindre les objectifs fixés par le Green Deal Européen 2050.