Alternative text

ENGIE x State Fund

BUSINESS CASE

How to launch an extensive state-wide solar and renewable energy program in the USA?

By ENGIE - 02 July 2021 - 14:38

State Fund, California’s compensation insurance fund, awarded ENGIE and its partner JLL, a contract to build an extensive sustainable solar and renewable energy program at seven locations throughout the state. The program will save nearly 55 million euros in energy costs during the life of the project and will significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

 

The ENGIE solution: solar panels, electric vehicle charging stations and energy storage facilities at seven locations throughout California

In May 2021, State Fund announced the launch of an ambitious renewable energy program to reduce energy consumption. In practice, this will mean the locations—Vacaville, Pleasanton, Redding, Fresno, Bakersfield, Sacramento, and Riverside —will be equipped with a range of facilities powered by renewable energy, including solar panels and energy storage as well as electric vehicle charging stations. A total of 230,000 tons of greenhouse gas emissions will be offset during a 20-year period.

The facilities provided by ENGIE will enable 311 GWh of solar energy to be produced during the 20-year period, enough to power 26,500 homes. The project will provide a reduction in CO2 emissions equivalent to taking 47,000 gas powered vehicles off the road.
 

This project is a huge step forward in our drive to reduce our use of fossil fuels and improve air quality throughout California,”
said Andreas Acker, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer at State Fund.
 

By supporting State Fund’s greater environmental strategy, the construction also helps the California economy during this critical time for recovery after the pandemic,
said Courtney Jenkins, General Manager and Vice President for Cities & Communities at ENGIE North America.


Key figures

  • 7 sites included in the project.
  • 311 GWh over 20 years, projected solar energy production, enough to power 26,500 homes.
  • 230,000 tons of greenhouse gas emissions offset over 20 years.

Alternative text

ENGIE x State Fund

BUSINESS CASE

Comment lancer un vaste programme d'installations solaires et d’énergies renouvelables à l’échelle d’un État américain ?

Par ENGIE - 02 juillet 2021 - 14:31

State Fund, fonds public d'indemnisation californien, a confié à ENGIE et son partenaire JLL la réalisation d'un vaste programme d'installations solaires et d’énergies renouvelables dans sept sites de l'État. De quoi économiser presque 55 millions d’euros sur la facture énergétique pendant toute la durée du projet, et réduire significativement les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

 

La solution ENGIE : des panneaux solaires, des bornes de recharge et des installations de stockage d’énergie dans sept sites californiens

En mai 2021, State Fund a annoncé le lancement d'un ambitieux programme d’énergies renouvelables pour réduire la consommation d’énergie. Concrètement, sept sites - Vacaville, Pleasanton, Redding, Fresno, Bakersfield, Sacramento et Riverside - vont être dotés de différents équipements utilisant des énergies renouvelables : panneaux solaires, installations permettant le stockage d'énergie ou encore bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques. Au total, ce sont 230 000 tonnes d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre qui seront évitées sur une période de 20 ans.
 

Grâce aux installations déployées par ENGIE, la production d'énergie solaire devrait atteindre quelque 311 GWh sur 20 ans – de quoi alimenter en énergie plus de 26 500 foyers. En termes d’émissions de CO2, ce projet équivaut au retrait de la circulation de 47 000 véhicules à essence.
 

« Ce projet marque un véritable  pas en avant dans notre volonté de réduire notre recours aux combustibles fossiles et d'améliorer la qualité de l'air dans toute la Californie », 
Andreas Acker, vice-président exécutif et directeur administratif du State Fund
 

« En soutenant la stratégie environnementale de State Fund, ce projet aide aussi l’économie californienne pendant cette période post-pandémie »,
Courtney Jenkins, directrice générale et vice-présidente des villes et des communautés ENGIE North America


Chiffres clés

  • 7 sites concernés par le projet.
  • 311 GWh, sur 20 ans, le niveau de production d'énergie solaire attendu, soit l’équivalent de la consommation de 26 500 foyers.
  • 230 000 tonnes d’émissions à effet de serre évitées sur 20 ans.