Alternative text

ENGIE X TESLA/LUIK NATIE

How can port logistics reach the target of carbon neutrality?

By ENGIE - 17 December 2021 - 15:30

In Antwerp, Belgium, Luik Natie, a company specialised in logistics solutions, has chosen ENGIE for help and support with its carbon neutrality initiative. Thanks to the use of renewable energies and, in particular Tesla Megapack – an equipment that offers the capacity of a giant battery, for the first time in the Group – Luik Natie will become the first carbon-neutral operator in the port of Antwerp. 

The ENGIE solution: on-site complementary energy infrastructures 

Our experts opted to combine two renewable energy production units: 3,800 solar panels, deployed on a surface area of 6,000 m², complement a wind turbine previously installed by Luik Natie, to offer a total local renewable energy production capacity of 4.2 MW. There is also an 88 kW electric charging station connected to the solar panels on the Luik Natie site.

 

Tesla Megapack: a first in Belgium and for the Group facilitating self-consumption

ENGIE opted to optimise these facilities and take its ecological approach even further by installing Tesla Megapack on the site. With a capacity of 1.25 MWh, it can be used to store the energy that is produced, and then consume it when there is no wind or sun. An important first, for both Belgium and the Group. This super battery is controlled by bespoke software developed by ENGIE Laborelec, ENGIE’s research centre, that optimises the control of the various items of equipment. So, how has this innovative project been financed? ENGIE has provided third-party investor system according to which ownership is transfered to the client after 10 years. And what has it achieved with this project? Luik Natie is now less dependent on the electricity grid and the fluctuations of the energy markets, and will become the first CO2-neutral logistics service provider in the port of Antwerp. 

 

The project in figures:

  • 1.2 MWp of photovoltaic power generated by 3,800 solar panels installed on a surface area of 6,000 m², bringing the total renewable production capacity to 4.2 MW.
  • Tesla Megapack, a battery capable of storing up to 1.25 MWh of excess solar and wind power.

 

“CO₂ neutrality is a very important ambition for Luik Natie. Thanks to the installation of Tesla Megapack and our precious collaboration with ENGIE, we have succeeded in becoming the first CO₂-neutral logistics service provider in the port of Antwerp.”
Stefaan Verhelst, CEO of Luik Natie

 

“This project is perfectly in line with ENGIE’s ambition to become carbon-neutral by 2045, in terms of both our own processes, but also those of our industrial customers.”
Thierry Saegeman, CEO ENGIE Benelux

Alternative text

ENGIE X TESLA/LUIK NATIE

Logistique portuaire : comment atteindre ses objectifs de neutralité carbone ?

Par ENGIE - 17 décembre 2021 - 15:15

En Belgique, la société anversoise, Luik Natie, spécialisée dans les solutions de logistique a choisi ENGIE pour l’accompagner dans sa démarche de neutralité carbone. Grâce à la mise en œuvre d'énergies renouvelables et notamment au recours à Tesla Megapack – un équipement inédit pour le Groupe qui offre la capacité d’une batterie géante –, Luik Natie deviendra le premier acteur du port d’Anvers à être neutre en carbone. 

La solution ENGIE :  des infrastructures énergétiques complémentaires sur le site

Nos experts ont joué la carte de la complémentarité entre deux unités de production d'énergie renouvelable : ENGIE a installé 3 800 panneaux solaires, déployés sur une surface de 6 000 m², complétant une éolienne déjà sur site pour une capacité de production globale d'ENR locale de 4,2 MW. Le site de Luik Natie est, par ailleurs, doté d’une station de recharge électrique d'une capacité de 88 kW et reliée aux panneaux solaires.

 

Tesla Megapack, une première en Belgique et pour le Groupe facilitant l’auto-consommation

Pour optimiser les installations et aller encore plus loin dans la démarche écologique, ENGIE a choisi d’installer sur le site Tesla Megapack, dont la capacité de 1,25 MWh permet de stocker l'énergie produite et de l'utiliser lorsque vent et soleil ne sont pas au rendez-vous. Une grande première, à la fois pour la Belgique et pour le Groupe. Ce système est piloté par un logiciel développé par ENGIE Laborelec, le centre de recherche d'ENGIE : réalisé sur-mesure, il permet d'optimiser la gestion des différents équipements. Quel financement pour ce projet innovant ? Il est apporté par ENGIE via un modèle de tiers investisseur qui prévoit le transfert de propriété au client au bout de 10 ans. Et pour quel résultat ? La société Luik Natie est désormais moins dépendante du réseau électrique et des fluctuations du marché de l'énergie et deviendra le premier acteur de services logistiques neutre en CO2 du port d'Anvers. 

 

Le projet en chiffres :

  • 1,2 MWc de puissance photovoltaïque, générée par 3 800 panneaux solaires installés sur une surface de 6 000 m², portant la capacité totale de production renouvelable à 4,2 MW.
  • 1 Tesla Megapack, une batterie capable de stocker les surplus d'énergies solaire et éolienne à hauteur de 1,25 MWh.

 

« La neutralité CO₂ est une ambition très importante pour Luik Natie. Avec l'installation de Tesla Megapack et la précieuse collaboration avec ENGIE, nous réussissons à devenir le premier prestataire logistique neutre en CO₂ dans le port d'Anvers. »
Stefaan Verhelst, CEO de Luik Natie.

 

« Cette réalisation s'inscrit pleinement dans l'ambition d'ENGIE d'être neutre en carbone d'ici 2045, tant au niveau de nos propres processus que de ceux de nos clients industriels »
Thierry Saegeman, CEO ENGIE Benelux.