Alternative text
CSR

Non-financial ratings

ENGIE sees sustainable development as contributing to the Group’s ability to create long-term value through the joint development of sustainable business and appropriate management of non-financial risks. Non-financial ratings agencies focus the majority of their audit on how companies manage these risks and possible controversies arising from it. Their CSR performance rating is not only a measure of external recognition, but also provides essential guidance for the process of improving how companies manage these CSR risks.

 

External assessments and recognition

 

The non-financial risk management assessments of ENGIE conducted by ratings agencies provide external, independent recognition of the quality of its non-financial processes. They therefore provide additional input to the interactive dialog between the Group and certain stakeholders, such as socially responsible investors (SRIs), shareholders, customers, the media and even NGOs.

 

RSE Performance improvement

 

Because the non-financial performance of ENGIE is integral to its overall performance, it is regularly assessed by ratings agencies. Since these agencies work on the basis of their own benchmarks, their individual analyses provide different and complementary perspectives of the overall CSR performance of the Group. 

 

ENGIE incorporates the analytical outcomes of all these ratings into its continual improvement process.

 

Vigeo Eiris assessment and indexes Euronext-Vigeo Eiris

 

According to Vigeo Eiris' 2019 analysis, ENGIE's CSR performance places the Group in the A1 + category in 5th place among the 60 companies in the Gas & Electricity sector with a score of 66/100, up 5 points compared to the previous notation. In 2019, ENGIE is listed in four indices: Euronext Vigeo Eiris World 120, Euronext Vigeo Eiris Europe 120, Euronext Vigeo Eiris Eurozone 120, Vigeo Eiris France 20.

 

ENGIE also integrated the new Vigeo Eiris CAC 40 governance index in 2017.

 

VIGEO EIRIS rating2016201720182019
ENGIE rating
(/ 100)
61No scoreNo score66
CategoryAdvanced  A1+
Positioning in the sector « Electric &Gas Utilities »5ème / 48  5ème / 60

 

More information

 

RobecoSAM assessment and DJSI indexes

 

In 2019, RobecoSAM granted an overall score of 82/100 which places ENGIE in 1st place out of 30 companies in the Multi and Water Utilities sector. As a result, ENGIE is included in the Dow Jones Sustainability Index (DJSI) World and Europe.

 

ENGIE also received the Gold class sustainability award. ENGIE maintained its performance in all dimensions of evaluation in 2019 with the score of 80/100 in the economic dimension, the score of 81/100 in the environmental dimension and the score of 87/100 in the social dimension. ENGIE obtains in particular the maximum score, 100 out of 100 for the categories: materiality, risk and crisis management, environmental reporting, water risk management and social reporting.

 

RobecoSam rating201720182019
ENGIE rating
(/ 100)
85
83 (selon méthode 2018)
82
Nouvelle méthode
82
Awards Award 2018Award 2019
Positioning in the sector « Multi Utilities and Water »2ème / 341er / 281er/30

 

More information

 

CDP assessment

 

ENGIE answers each year to the CDP (Carbon Disclosure Project) questionnaire, which questions and ranks the world's largest listed companies on their understanding of the challenges and their performance in terms of combating climate change (CDP Climat) and managing water resource (CDP Water).

 

In the CDP Climat questionnaire, the Group again obtained an A score in 2019 (scale from A to E, A being the best score). The “A list” brings together the companies that received the highest rating, i.e. 2% of large global companies that responded to the CDP questionnaire in 2019.

 

In the CDP Water questionnaire, the Group obtained a B score in 2019.

 

CDP Climat rating201720182019
ENGIE ratingAAA

 

CDP Water rating201720182019
ENGIE ratingA-B-B

 

More information

 

Sustainalytics assessment

 

In 2019, ENGIE received a score of 73/100 and belongs to the “average performer” category.

 

Sustainalytics rating
(/100)
201720182019
ENGIE rating707073

 

More information

 

MSCI assessment

In 2019, ENGIE again received an A rating (on a scale from CCC to AAA).

 

MSCI rating201720182019
ENGIE ratingAAA

 

More information

 

ECOVADIS assessment

 

Ecovadis offers companies a platform for conducting Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) assessments of their suppliers. ENGIE completes this questionnaire every year at the request of around ten of its largest customers. The rating is calculated on the basis of 21 criteria grouped into the 4 main themes of environment, social, business ethics and responsible purchasing.

 

In 2020, ENGIE obtained an overall rating of 75/100, again placing the Group in the Advanced category.

 

EcoVadis rating (/ 100)201820192020
ENGIE rating68 68 75
Categoryadvancedadvancedadvanced
certificationCSR rating GoldCSR rating Gold 

 

More information

Alternative text

Pour ENGIE, la responsabilité sociétale d’entreprise (RSE) contribue à la création de valeur à long-terme du Groupe grâce à l’action conjointe du développement de business responsables et de la gestion appropriée des risques RSE. Les agences de notation extra-financière portent une attention particulière sur la gestion de ces risques par les entreprises et des éventuelles controverses en découlant. Leurs évaluations RSE sont non seulement le gage d’une reconnaissance externe, mais constituent également une source d’inspiration dans le processus d’amélioration de la gestion de ces risques RSE par les entreprises.

 

Evaluations externes et reconnaissance

 

Les évaluations de la gestion des risques extra-financiers d’ENGIE par les agences de notation constituent une reconnaissance externe et indépendante de la qualité de ses processus extra-financiers. Elles permettent ainsi d’enrichir le dialogue avec certaines parties prenantes comme les investisseurs, les actionnaires individuels, les clients, les médias ou encore les ONG.

 

Amélioration de la performance RSE

 

La performance RSE d’ENGIE, partie intégrante de sa performance globale, est évaluée régulièrement par des agences de notation. Comme celles-ci travaillent à partir de référentiels qui leur sont spécifiques, leurs analyses apportent des vues différentes et complémentaires sur la performance RSE du Groupe.

 

ENGIE intègre, dans son processus d’amélioration continue, les fruits de l’analyse de ces différentes évaluations.

 

L’évaluation de Vigeo Eiris et les indices Euronext-Vigeo Eiris

 

Selon l’analyse 2019 de Vigeo Eiris, les performances RSE d’ENGIE placent le Groupe dans la catégorie A1+ au 5e rang parmi les 60 entreprises dans le secteur Gaz & Electricité avec une note de 66/100, en progression de 5 points par rapport à la notation précédente. En 2019, ENGIE est listé dans quatre indices : Euronext Vigeo Eiris World 120, Euronext Vigeo Eiris Europe 120, Euronext Vigeo Eiris Eurozone 120, Vigeo Eiris France 20.

 

ENGIE a également intégré en 2017 le nouvel indice Vigeo Eiris CAC 40 governance.

 

Notation VIGEO EIRIS201420152016201720182019
Note d’ENGIE 
(/ 100)
58Pas de note61Pas de notePas de note66
CatégorieRobust Advanced  A1+
Positionnement dans le secteur « Electric &Gas Utilities »10ème/43 5ème / 48  5ème / 60

 

En savoir plus

 

L’évaluation de RobecoSAM et les indices DJSI 

 

En 2019, RobecoSAM a accordé une note globale de 82/100 ce qui place ENGIE à la 1ère place sur les 30 entreprises du secteur Multi and Water Utilities. De ce fait ENGIE fait partie des indices Dow Jones Sustainability Index (DJSI) World et Europe.

 

ENGIE a de plus reçu la distinction Gold class sustainability award. ENGIE a maintenu en 2019 ses performances dans toutes les dimensions de l’évaluation avec la note de 80/100 dans la dimension économique, la note de 81/100 dans la dimension environnementale et la note de 87/100 dans la dimension sociale. ENGIE obtient notamment la note maximale, soit 100 sur 100 pour les catégories : matérialité, management des risques et des crises, reporting environnemental, gestion des risques liés à l’eau, reporting social.

 

Notation RobecoSam201720182019
Note d’ENGIE 
(/ 100)
85
83 (selon méthode 2018)
82
Nouvelle méthode
82
Awards Award 2018Award 2019
Positionnement dans le secteur « Multi Utilities and Water »2ème / 341er / 281er/30

 

En savoir plus

 

L’évaluation du CDP

 

ENGIE répond chaque année au questionnaire du CDP (Carbon Disclosure Project) qui interroge et classe les plus grandes entreprises mondiales cotées en bourse sur leur compréhension des enjeux et leur performance en termes de lutte contre le changement climatique (CDP Climat) et de gestion de la ressource en eau (CDP Water).

 

Dans le questionnaire du CDP Climat, le Groupe a à nouveau obtenu en 2019 la note A (échelle de A à E, A étant la meilleure note). La « A list » rassemble les sociétés qui ont reçu la note la plus élevée, soit 2 % des grandes entreprises mondiales ayant répondu au questionnaire du CDP en 2019.
Dans le questionnaire CDP Water, le Groupe a obtenu en 2019 la note B.

 

Notation CDP Climat201720182019
Note d’ENGIEAAA

 

Notation CDP Eau201720182019
Note d’ENGIEA-B-B

 

En savoir plus

 

L’évaluation de Sustainalytics 

 

En 2019, ENGIE a reçu la note de 73/100 et appartient à la catégorie « average performer ».

 

Notation sustainalytics (/ 100)201720182019
Note d’ENGIE707073

 

En savoir plus

 

L’évaluation de MSCI 

En 2019, ENGIE a à nouveau reçu la note A (sur une échelle allant de CCC à AAA).

 

Notation MSCI201720182019
Note d’ENGIEAAA

 

En savoir plus

 

L’évaluation d’ECOVADIS 

 

La société EcoVadis propose aux entreprises une plate-forme d’évaluation de la Corporate Social Responsability (CSR) de leurs fournisseurs. ENGIE répond chaque année à ce questionnaire à la demande d’une dizaine de ses grands clients. La note est calculée sur la base de 21 critères selon 4 grandes thématiques: environnement, social, éthique des affaires et achats responsables.
En 2020, ENGIE a obtenu une note globale de 75/100, ce qui place à nouveau le Groupe en catégorie Avancée.

 

Notation EcoVadis (/ 100)201820192020
Note d’ENGIE68 68 75
Catégorieadvancedadvancedadvanced
certificationCSR rating GoldCSR rating Gold 

 

En savoir plus