Alternative text

ENGIE x HYGREEN

BUSINESS CASE

How to decarbonize a region through the industrial production of renewable hydrogen? 

By ENGIE - 02 March 2021 - 17:02

ENGIE has joined forces with Air Liquide and the Durance, Luberon, Verdon urban area (DLVA) in order to develop the HyGreen Provence project. This public-private partnership aims to produce solar electricity and to transform a growing part of it into green hydrogen. With the eventual annual production of several thousand tons of renewable hydrogen, this project is set to be an important milestone for the development of the sector in France. 

 

The HyGreen solution: local, storable and multi-purpose renewable energy! 

 

The first commercial project of this scale in France, HyGreen Provence is centred around the construction of a local renewable energy production system. This alternative energy will be recovered in large part as renewable hydrogen

 

How will it work? 

 

A genuine regional ecosystem will be developed: pending the provision of financial support, as of 2023, electricity will be produced from solar energy. One part will be directly injected to the network. Another part will be recovered as hydrogen by an electrolyser.  

 

By 2028, this gas will be stored in salt caverns on the Manosque storage site, operated by Storengy (an ENGIE subsidiary), and distributed for a wide range of uses. Not only will it be able to supply a network of green mobility stations implemented throughout the region, but, above all, it will contribute to the decarbonisation of the regional industrial fabric. Finally, it could also be used for other purposes, such as heating and cooling.  

 

Infographie Hygreen

 

Proposed by ENGIE (through its ENGIE subsidiary, and its entity dedicated to hydrogen) and its partners (DLVA, Air Liquide France and its subsidiary, Hydrogen Company), HyGreen Provence represents a global solution, the product of technical synergies, which will hugely contribute to local and regional development in the region. 

 

With both economic and industrial objectives, HyGreen is also the result of a collaboration of  different stakeholders, with a view to preserving landscapes (forested areas, croplands, etc.) and to respect biodiversity, ensuring harmonious development in the region. The Verdon and Luberon natural parks have contributed, in particular, their expertise in terms of protection of areas. 

 

“Above all, HyGreen Provence is an ambitious and innovative project. It rallies all concerned stakeholders with a desire to work together, in particular the Luberon and Verdon Parks. With this project, we are contributing to France’s energy transition alongside renowned industrial companies who, through their respective expertise, lend credibility and viability to a zero-carbon emission requirement.”
Jean-Christophe PETRIGNY, President of the DLVA 

 

“We are delighted to take part in this flagship project which will demonstrate, on an industrial scale in France, the essential role that green hydrogen plays in the energy transition.”
Guy Salzgeber, Executive Vice President and member of the Executive Committee at Air Liquide 

 

By 2028: 

  • 1,500 GWh/year of renewable electricity converted to hydrogen, i.e. the equivalent to the residential consumption of 500,000 people
  • 30,000 tons of renewable hydrogen produced annually for multiple uses: mobility, energy and industrial uses throughout the region
  • More than 300,000t/year of CO2 emissions prevented, i.e. the equivalent to the annual consumption of 37,500 French residents

Alternative text

ENGIE x HYGREEN

BUSINESS CASE

Comment décarboner un territoire grâce à une production industrielle d’hydrogène renouvelable ?

Par ENGIE - 02 mars 2021 - 17:52

ENGIE s’est associé à Air Liquide et à la communauté d’agglomération Durance Luberon Verdon (DLVA) pour développer le projet HyGreen Provence. Ce partenariat public-privé innovant vise à produire de l’électricité solaire et à en transformer une part croissante en hydrogène vert. Avec plusieurs milliers de tonnes d’hydrogène renouvelable qui seront à terme produites annuellement, il promet d’être un jalon important pour le développement de la filière en France. 

 

La solution HyGreen : de l’énergie renouvelable locale, stockable et multi-usages !


Premier projet à vocation commerciale de cette envergure en France, HyGreen Provence repose sur la construction d’un système de production locale d’énergie renouvelable. Cette énergie alternative sera valorisée en grande partie sous forme d’hydrogène renouvelable


Comment ça fonctionne ?


Un véritable écosystème territorial sera développé : sous réserve de l’obtention des supports financiers, dès 2023, des panneaux photovoltaïques permettront de produire de l’électricité à partir de l’énergie solaire. Une partie sera injectée directement dans le réseau. Une autre partie sera valorisée sous forme d’hydrogène par une unité d’électrolyse. 


D’ici 2028, ce gaz pourra être stocké en cavités salines sur le site de stockage de Manosque, exploité par Storengy (filiale d’ENGIE), et distribué pour répondre à un très large spectre d’usages. Il pourra non seulement alimenter un réseau de stations de mobilité verte déployé dans la région, mais surtout contribuer à la décarbonation du tissu industriel régional. Enfin, il  pourra également être utilisé pour d’autres usages, comme le chauffage et le refroidissement. 

 

Infographie Hygreen FR


Proposé par ENGIE (via sa filiale Storengy et son entité dédiée à l’hydrogène) et ses partenaires (DLVA, Air Liquide France et sa filiale Hydrogen Company), HyGreen Provence représente une solution globale, fruit des complémentarités techniques, pour contribuer massivement au développement local et régional du territoire.


Poursuivant des objectifs à la fois économiques et industriels, HyGreen est également le fruit d’une concertation menée entre les différents acteurs, dans un souci de préservation des paysages (forestiers, agricoles…) et du respect de la biodiversité, pour un développement harmonieux du territoire. Les parcs du Verdon et du Lubéron ont notamment apporté leur expertise en matière de protection des espaces.

 

« HyGreen Provence est avant tout un projet de territoire ambitieux et novateur. Il intègre l’ensemble des acteurs concernés, notamment les Parcs Naturels du Verdon et du Luberon, avec une volonté de concertation. Nous contribuons de fait à la transition énergétique de la France avec des industriels de renom qui, de par leurs expertises respectives, apportent crédibilité et viabilité à une exigence zéro émission de carbone. »
Jean-Christophe PETRIGNY, Président de DLVA

 

« Nous sommes heureux de contribuer à ce projet phare qui permettra de démontrer, à l’échelle industrielle en France, le rôle-clé qu’est appelé à jouer l’hydrogène vert dans la transition énergétique. »
Guy Salzgeber, Directeur général adjoint et membre du comité exécutif d’Air Liquide

 

D’ici 2028 :

  • 1 500 GWh/an d’électricité renouvelable convertis en hydrogène, soit l’équivalent de la consommation résidentielle de 500 000 personnes
  • 30 000 tonnes d’hydrogène renouvelable produit par an pour servir différents usages : mobilité, énergétiques et industriels de l’ensemble de la région
  • Plus de 300 000t/an de CO2 évitées, soit l’équivalent de la consommation annuelle de 37 500 Français