Alternative text

ENGIE x MICROSOFT – USA

BUSINESS CASE

How to ensure continuous supply from 100% renewable energy production?

By ENGIE - 07 January 2021 - 10:39

Microsoft chose ENGIE to help implement a plan to transition all its data centers to renewable energy. The agreement signed by the IT giant in 2019 mandates ENGIE to supply electricity for its Texas data center using an innovative hybrid solution, which combines wind and solar power to guarantee a constant supply of high volumes of energy.

 

ENGIE’s solution for MICROSOFT: a hybrid source of energy produced locally

From 2021, Microsoft’s data center in Texas will be powered by hybrid wind and solar energy produced locally by ENGIE, for a period of at least 15 years. The electricity will be sourced primarily from the new Las Lomas wind farm south of Texas, and the Anson Solar Center, currently being built in the centre of Texas state. 

This combined wind and solar solution providing Microsoft with a direct energy supply is a major innovation and a decisive example of a full transition to completely decarbonised energy consumption. While renewable energy sources are intermittent – their production being dependent on weather conditions – this hybrid mix offers a guaranteed, continuous supply of high volumes to meet the data center’s considerable energy needs. 

ENGIE’s pioneering digital software solution Darwin will be used to optimise production at the wind and solar farms. The smart data management platform enables predictive maintenance, real-time meteorological data analysis and real-time monitoring of energy production.

 

“Procuring more renewable energy helps to transform our operations. This agreement with ENGIE is an exciting step towards a low-carbon future, driven by capital investments and enabled by data.”
Carlo Purassanta, President, Microsoft France

 

Key Figures

  • 75% of Microsoft data centers will be powered by renewably-sourced electricity by 2023
  • 15 years of renewable energy supply for the Microsoft data center in Texas
  • A reduction in CO2 emissions equivalent to the daily use of over 100,000 cars

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

Alternative text

ENGIE x MICROSOFT – USA

BUSINESS CASE

Comment garantir un approvisionnement en continu à partir d’une production d’énergie 100% renouvelable ?

Par ENGIE - 07 janvier 2021 - 10:22

Microsoft a choisi ENGIE pour l’accompagner dans son projet de basculer entièrement l’alimentation de ses data centers en énergies renouvelables. L’accord conclu en 2019 avec le géant de l’informatique pour la fourniture en électricité de son centre de données situé au Texas repose sur un dispositif hybride innovant, qui associe éolien et solaire pour garantir un flux d’énergie élevé sans intermittences.

 

La solution ENGIE pour MICROSOFT : une source d’énergies hybride, produite en proximité

Le data center de Microsoft au Texas sera alimenté à partir de 2021, et pour une durée minimale de 15 ans, par l’énergie hybride en éolien et solaire produite à proximité par ENGIE. L’électricité proviendra en majorité du nouveau parc éolien de Las Lomas, situé au sud du Texas, et du parc Anson Solar Center, en construction au centre de l’état. 

La solution d’une fourniture directe en électricité combinant éolien et solaire constitue une innovation majeure au service de Microsoft. Elle constituera aussi un exemple décisif dans la transition globale vers des consommations d’énergie entièrement décarbonées. Alors que les énergies renouvelables sont intermittentes - leurs conditions de production dépendant de la météorologie -, ce mix hybride permet de garantir en flux continu un volume élevé répondant aux besoins énergétiques importants du data center. 

Pour optimiser les performances de production des parcs, leur exploitation s’appuiera sur Darwin, la solution digitale pionnière développée par ENGIE. Cette plateforme intelligente de gestion des données permet une maintenance prédictive ainsi qu’une analyse en temps réels des données météorologiques et de la production d’énergie.

 

« Augmenter nos sources d’énergies renouvelables nous permet de nous transformer. Ce contrat avec ENGIE est une étape clé de notre transition zéro carbone, soutenue par des investissements et accélérée par le digital. »
Carlo Purassanta, Président de Microsoft France

 

Chiffres Clés

  • 75 % des data centers de Microsoft seront alimentés par de l’électricité d’origine renouvelable d’ici 2023
  • 15 années de fourniture d’énergie renouvelable pour le data center de Microsoft au Texas
  • Une réduction des émissions de CO2 équivalente à l’utilisation quotidienne de plus de 100 000 voitures