BETTER ENERGY

ENGIE, a player committed to sustainable development, is stepping up its actions on the occasion of ESDW

By ENGIE - 22 September 2020 - 14:05

European Sustainable Development Week (ESDW) is a major event organised by the public authorities in Europe each year, aimed at explaining sustainable development to the general public, raising awareness of its challenges, and demonstrating and encouraging different forms of individual and collective concrete action.

 

Due to the health situation, ESDW is taking place over three weeks this year, from 18 September to 8 October. The core event will take place from 20 to 26 September, for the anniversary of the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

 

Our purpose, “to act to accelerate the transition towards a carbon-neutral economy, through reduced energy consumption and more environmentally-friendly solutions”, makes ENGIE a committed player in terms of corporate social and environmental responsibility (CSR). ESDW is therefore an opportunity for ENGIE to share concrete and meaningful actions for a sustainable future at national and international level.

 

Claire Waysand, interim Chief Executive Officer:

 

“With this purpose statement, ENGIE is committing to a long-term perspective and the transition towards carbon neutrality. The Group has halved its greenhouse gas emissions over the last few years and its employees are striving every day to develop service offerings that reduce the carbon footprints of cities, local authorities and companies, for the benefit of all. The result of extensive consultative work, the purpose statement brings together all Group stakeholders, and first and foremost its employees.”

 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of the Board of Directors:

 

 “The internal and external consultative process demonstrates a strong desire to ensure that a purpose statement translates into concrete actions and, more generally, an intention to translate beliefs and words into action. Our purpose statement therefore needs to result in action.” 

 

Clear objectives in favour of sustainable development and CSR

ENGIE has been committed for many years to an ambitious and comprehensive policy in terms of sustainable development and CSR. This policy now forms a key lever for the Group’s performance.

 

The historic adherence to the 10 Principles of the United Nations Global Compact is now broken down into multiple commitments and actions in favour of the planet (climate, biodiversity, water, the circular economy, etc.) and people (diversity, youth, the disabled, minorities, access to energy, etc.). The Group has therefore defined ambitious objectives for 2030 so that it can closely manage its CSR performance. These actions essentially contribute to 12 of the 17 United Nations sustainable development goals.

 

The Group’s CSR policy guides its environmental and societal vigilance through action plans at different levels to avoid, reduce and, if necessary, compensate for the impact of the Group’s activities. It is adapted to each BU, subsidiary and site, and is implemented through annually reviewed objectives and action plans.

 

A Sustainable Development Week full of commitment

Despite the strict health rules in place, ENGIE is fully in action for ESDW through its various businesses in France and Europe. The BUs are redoubling their energy and ideas to celebrate this week of commitment, and to communicate physically or digitally on the major challenges of today and tomorrow. 

 

The 2020 edition is a highlight for the entire company, and we will be presenting our actions and commitments every week during the event.

SEED

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

RSE

ENGIE, acteur engagé en matière de développement durable multiplie les actions à l’occasion de la SEDD

Par ENGIE - 22 septembre 2020 - 09:23

La Semaine Européenne du Développement Durable (SEDD) est un événement majeur organisé par les autorités publiques chaque année en Europe, en vue d'expliquer le développement durable au grand public, de le sensibiliser à ses enjeux, de démontrer et de favoriser les différentes formes de mobilisation concrètes, individuelles et collectives.

 

En raison de la situation sanitaire, la SEDD se déroule cette année du 18 septembre au 8 octobre 2020 sur 3 semaines. Avec un temps fort du 20 au 26 septembre pour l’anniversaire des 17 Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) de l’ONU.

 

Notre raison d’être « agir pour accélérer la transition vers une économie neutre en carbone, par des solutions plus sobres en énergie et plus respectueuses de l’environnement » fait d’ENGIE un acteur engagé en matière de Responsabilité Sociétale et Environnementale (RSE). Ainsi, la SEDD est l’occasion pour ENGIE de partager des actions concrètes et utiles au regard d’un avenir durable à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

 

Claire Waysand, Directrice Générale par interim  :
 

« Avec cette raison d’être, ENGIE inscrit résolument son action dans la durée dans la transition vers la neutralité carbone. Le Groupe a divisé par deux ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre ces dernières années et ses collaborateurs œuvrent au quotidien pour construire des offres de services qui réduisent l’empreinte carbone des villes, des collectivités et des entreprises, au bénéfice de tous. Fruit d’un travail de consultation large, la raison d’être rassemble l’ensemble des parties prenantes du Groupe, au premier rang desquelles ses salariés. »

 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Président du Conseil d’administration :
 

« Les consultations internes et externes démontrent une attente forte que la raison d’être se décline en actions concrètes qui la crédibilisent, et plus généralement, un besoin de cohérence entre le discours et l’action du Groupe. Ainsi, la raison d’être doit se transformer en raison d’agir. »

 

Des objectifs clairs en faveur du développement durable et de la RSE

ENGIE est engagé depuis de nombreuses années dans une politique ambitieuse et globale en matière de développement durable et de RSE. Cette politique, constitue aujourd’hui un levier clé de la performance du Groupe.

 

L’adhésion historique aux 10 Principes du Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies se décline aujourd’hui en de multiples engagements et actions en faveur de la planète (climat, biodiversité, eau, économie circulaire, …) et des personnes (mixité, jeunesse, handicapés, minorités, accès à l’énergie, …). Le Groupe a ainsi défini des objectifs ambitieux à horizon 2030 afin de piloter au plus près sa performance en matière de RSE. Ces actions contribuent essentiellement à 12 des 17 objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies.

 

La politique RSE du Groupe pilote la démarche de vigilance en matière environnementale et sociétale grâce à des plans d’actions à différents niveaux pour éviter, réduire et, si besoin, compenser les impacts des activités du Groupe. Elle est déclinée au niveau de chaque BU, filiale et site, et est mise en œuvre au travers d’objectifs et de plans d’actions revus chaque année.

 

Une semaine du développement durable riche et engagée

Malgré les règles strictes liées au contexte sanitaire, ENGIE, à travers ses différentes entités en France et en Europe, est pleinement mobilisé autour de la SEDD. Les BU redoublent d’énergie et d’idées pour célébrer cette semaine d’engagement, et communiquer physiquement ou en digital sur les enjeux forts d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

 

L’édition 2020 est un temps fort pour toute l’entreprise, dont nous vous présenterons les actions et les engagements chaque semaine durant l’événement.

SEED

Votre avis sur nos contenus nous intéresse. Aidez-nous à les améliorer, en répondant à ce questionnaire.