GREEN RECOVERY

ENGIE, a partner committed for a fast and strong recovery

By ENGIE - 22 September 2020 - 14:00

The French government’s recovery plan, France Relance, aims to speed up the ecological conversion of our economy and our productive fabric: out of €100bn, €30bn will be devoted to financing the ecological transition. ENGIE, with its strategy and activities, is fully in line with the objectives of this plan and is positioning itself as a player committed to a green recovery that creates value.

 

A recovery plan to speed up the ecological transition 

On Thursday 3 September, the government presented its France Relance plan, a road map “for the economic, social and ecological reconstruction of the country” following the Covid-19 health crisis. Of the €100bn promised by the government, €30bn will be devoted to the ecological transition, in several strategic areas: in particular, the energy renovation of buildings (a budget of €2bn), green infrastructure and mobility (€1.2bn), decarbonisation of industry (€1.2bn) and the development of green technologies (€2bn). The goal is ambitious: to make France the first major carbon-free economy in Europe. 

 

Driven by our purpose, “to act to accelerate the transition towards a carbon-neutral economy”, our Group has called several times since the end of lockdown for the recovery to be used as a lever to speed up the transition of the economic model. 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of the Group’s Board of Directors

 

The first issue is the urgent need to implement the recovery plan, as explained on French radio Europe 1 by Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of the Group’s Board of Directors: “There is an urgent need to put the recovery plan measures in place very quickly. It’s a question of weeks, of months. It is absolutely essential that the plan is applied to concrete projects, ready to start very quickly.

 

A recovery plan in line with the Group’s priorities

The recovery plan will consist, in particular for the pillar devoted to ecological transition, of calls for projects that will direct public investment towards projects that are beneficial for the environment. The first such calls were launched at the end of August 2020 and will close in mid-October. 

 

The second lesson is that they must be targeted at creating long-term social and ecological value,” said Claire Waysand, ENGIE’s interim CEO, at the Forum of the Americas. “The first of the challenges facing our societies is social cohesion: in a number of societies, inequalities have been growing and that’s a threat to social cohesion.”

 

Claire Waysand, Miami Conference/Forum of the Americas, 01/09/2020: “Powering the green recovery through public private partnerships”

This plan, clearly focused on a green recovery, is at the heart of what ENGIE offers. In the industrial decarbonisation component, for example, the government plans to finance projects on energy efficiency, the decarbonisation of production processes and low-carbon heat. ENGIE is therefore on the front line, since the plan’s objectives are at the intersection of the Group’s two strategic priorities:

 

  • To decarbonise energy production by phasing out coal and speeding up development of renewables: solar, wind, photovoltaic and hydrogen.
  • To help clients consume less and better, which comes down to offering services in energy efficiency, thermal renovation of buildings and European infrastructure.

 

 “This green recovery is really at the heart of what we are positioned to contribute,” said Claire Waysand, speaking at the Forum of the Americas on the need for public/private coordination for a green recovery. “We are very committed to the development and acceleration of investments in renewable energies (...) We very much believe that, player by player, there is much that needs to done and can be done. The good news is that both communities and companies are more and more interested in reducing their carbon footprint.

 

Concrete benefits for all companies

A report from the World Economic Forum published in July indicates that a green recovery could create 395 million jobs worldwide and deliver more than $10 trillion in business opportunities by 2030. This would concern three key areas: energy, buildings and food. Companies have an essential role to play in this energy transition because they have the necessary technology, innovation and financing.

 

All studies show that, in order to meet the targets that we need to meet on climate change, we need to reduce our energy consumption,” said Claire Waysand at the Forum of the Americas. But, in addition to the interest of the recovery for speeding up the ecological transition, the plans must also help to restart activity and create jobs. These “energy efficiency measures” are activities that can benefit large, medium and small businesses, Claire Waysand explained. “There is a whole value chain of companies that are operating on energy efficiency.”

 

The hydrogen plan, a historic opportunity

In addition to the France Relance plan and that presented by the European Commission in July, the French government’s special plan for hydrogen will bring public spending in this field up to €7.2bn by 2030. 

 

. Judith Hartmann, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerJudith Hartmann, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, spoke on this subject on 14 September, on online French TV channel BSmart: “Hydrogen is an element that can green energy, that can green gas. With the recovery plan, investments in hydrogen have increased twentyfold. For France and Europe, there is a historic opportunity to create the sector and move to the industrial scale,” she explained. “Hydrogen is an energy that allows storage of renewable energies when there is overproduction.”

 

The recovery plan also includes support for a green hydrogen production unit operated by ENGIE at an ArianeGroup site in the Eure. This unit will test cutting-edge technologies for maritime and inland waterway applications.

 

With the French and European recovery plans, in coordination with public players, ENGIE intends to contribute strongly to the objective set by the European Union on 16 September, strengthening its CO2 emissions reduction target to at least 55% by 2050. This is the meaning behind ENGIE’s purpose, “to act to accelerate the transition towards a carbon-neutral economy”.

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

RELANCE VERTE

ENGIE partenaire engagé d’une relance rapide et concrète

Par ENGIE - 22 septembre 2020 - 14:00

Le plan de relance du gouvernement français, France Relance, vise à accélérer la conversion écologique de notre économie et de notre tissu productif : sur 100 milliards d’euros, 30 seront consacrés au financement de la transition écologique. ENGIE, avec sa stratégie et ses activités, s’inscrit pleinement dans les objectifs de ce plan et se positionne comme un acteur engagé pour une relance verte et créatrice de valeur.

 

Un plan de relance pour accélérer la transition écologique

Jeudi 3 septembre, le gouvernement a présenté son plan France Relance, feuille de route « pour la refondation économique, sociale et écologique du pays », à la suite de la crise sanitaire COVID-19. Parmi les 100 milliards d’euros promis par le Gouvernement, 30 milliards d’euros seront consacrés à la transition écologique, autour de plusieurs axes stratégiques : la rénovation énergétique des bâtiments (2 milliards d’euros mobilisés), les infrastructures et mobilités vertes (1,2 milliard), la décarbonation de l’industrie (1,2 milliard) et le développement de technologies vertes (2 milliards) notamment. L’objectif est ambitieux : faire de la France la première grande économie décarbonée européenne.  

 

Animé par sa raison d’être « agir pour accélérer la transition vers une économie neutre en carbone »,  notre groupe avait lancé plusieurs appels depuis la fin du confinement, pour utiliser la relance comme levier d’accélération de la transition du modèle économique. 

 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, président du Conseil d’administration du GroupePremier enjeu : l’urgence à mettre en œuvre le plan de relance comme, l’a expliqué sur Europe 1 Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, président du Conseil d’administration du Groupe :« Il y a une urgence à ce que les mesures du plan de relance se mettent en place très vite. C'est une question de semaines, c'est une question de mois. Il faut absolument que ce plan s'applique sur des projets concrets qui sont prêts à être démarrés très vite. »

 

Un plan de relance en phase avec les priorités du Groupe

Le plan de relance consistera, notamment pour le pilier consacré à la transition écologique, en des appels à projets qui permettront de flécher les investissements publics vers des projets vertueux pour l’environnement. Les premiers ont été lancés fin août 2020 et seront clos mi-octobre. 

 

« La deuxième leçon est qu’ils doivent viser à créer de la valeur à long terme tant sur le plan social que sur le plan écologique, explique Claire Waysand, Directrice générale par intérim d’ENGIE lors du Forum des Amériques. Le premier des défis de nos sociétés est la cohésion sociale : dans un certain nombre de sociétés, les inégalités se sont accrues et cela constitue une menace pour la cohésion sociale. »

 

Claire Waysand, Conférence de Miami/Forum des Amériques, 1/09/20 : « Powering recovery through public private partner »

Ce plan, clairement axé sur une relance verte, est au cœur de ce à quoi contribue ENGIE. Dans le volet décarbonation de l’industrie par exemple, le gouvernement prévoit de financer des projets sur l’efficacité énergétique, la décarbonation des procédés de production et la chaleur bas carbone. ENGIE est ainsi en première ligne, puisque les objectifs de ce plan sont au croisement des deux priorités stratégiques du Groupe :

 

  • Décarboner l’appareil de production d’énergie par la sortie du charbon et l’accélération dans les renouvelables : solaire, éolien, photovoltaïque et hydrogène.
  • Aider les clients à consommer moins et mieux ce qui revient à proposer des services en efficacité énergétique, rénovation thermique des bâtiments et des infrastructures européennes.

 

« La reprise verte est au cœur de ce à quoi nous devons pouvoir contribuer, a défendu Claire Waysand lors de son intervention au Forum des Amériques consacrée à la nécessité de coordination public/privé pour la relance verte. Nous sommes très attachés au développement et à l'accélération des investissements dans les énergies renouvelables (...) Nous sommes convaincus que chaque acteur, à son niveau, a beaucoup à faire. La bonne nouvelle est que les institutions et les entreprises sont de plus en plus engagées dans la réduction de leur empreinte carbone. »

 

Des retombées concrètes pour toutes les entreprises

Un rapport du Forum économique mondial publié en juillet indique qu’une relance verte pourrait créer 395 millions d’emplois dans le monde et rapporter plus de 10 milliards de dollars de richesse d’ici à 2030. Trois domaines clés seraient concernés : l’énergie, le bâtiment et l’alimentation. Les entreprises ont un rôle essentiel à jouer dans cette transition énergétique car elles disposent de la technologie, de l’innovation et du financement nécessaires.

 

« Toutes les études montrent que, pour atteindre les objectifs que nous devons nous fixer pour limiter le changement climatique, nous devons réduire notre consommation d'énergie », pointe Claire Waysand au Forum des Amériques. Mais, en plus de l’intérêt de la relance pour l’accélération de la transition écologique, les plans doivent aider à redémarrer l’activité et créer des emplois. « Ces "mesures d'efficacité énergétique" sont des activités qui pourraient profiter à des grandes, moyennes et petites entreprises, explique Claire Waysand. Il existe toute une chaîne de valeur que les entreprises opèrent en matière d'efficacité énergétique. »

 

Le plan hydrogène, une opportunité historique

Au plan France Relance et celui présenté par la Commission européenne en juillet, va venir s’ajouter un plan gouvernemental spécial pour l’hydrogène qui portera l’effort public en France à 7,2 milliards d’euros d’ici 2030.

 

Judith Hartmann, Directrice Générale Adjointe et Directrice financièreJudith Hartmann, Directrice Générale Adjointe et Directrice financière est venue en parler le 14 septembre sur la chaîne en ligne BSmart : « L’hydrogène est un élément pour verdir l’énergie, verdir le gaz. Avec le plan de relance, on a multiplié par 20 les investissements dans l’hydrogène. Pour la France et l’Europe, il y a une opportunité historique pour créer la filière et passer à échelle industrielle, explique-t-elle. L’hydrogène est une énergie qui permet de stocker les énergies renouvelables quand il y a une surproduction. »

 

Le plan de relance comporte d’ailleurs une mesure de soutien à une unité de production d’hydrogène vert opérée par ENGIE sur un site d’ArianeGroup dans l’Eure. Cette unité permettra de tester des technologies de pointe pour des utilisations maritimes et fluviales.

 

Avec les plans de relance français et européen, en coordination avec les acteurs publics, ENGIE compte participer massivement à l’objectif que l’Union Européenne s’est fixé le 16 septembre, de renforcer son objectif de diminution des émissions de CO2 à 55% pour 2050. C’est le sens de sa raison d’être,  « agir pour accélérer la transition vers une économie neutre en carbone ».

Votre avis sur nos contenus nous intéresse. Aidez-nous à les améliorer, en répondant à ce questionnaire.