Alternative text

ENGIE x Yoplait

BUSINESS CASE

How to recycle a factory's waste heat and heat a district?

By NB6141@engie.com - 17 May 2021 - 10:47

In Vienne (Isère, France), ENGIE Solutions, Yoplait Productions France and city authorities have joined forces to use the energy generated by the Yoplait plant to heat the district. Another step in the transition to decarbonised heat!

 

 

The ENGIE solution: recovering energy

Waste heat is the residual heat that is generated by an industrial process and not used. Until recently, the heat generated by Yoplait's production process was not put to use. But all that changed on 11 January 2021, when ENGIE Solutions, the social housing agency Advivo, the City of Vienne and the urban area signed 15-year contracts to introduce a system to recover waste heat and reinject it into the urban heating network.

 

Almost 800 homes heated

The Grand Estressin district, situated close to the production plant in the north of Vienne, will benefit from the new system of heat pumps, which will inject waste heat into the new network. The aim is to supply 60% of heating requirements for almost 800 of the district's social housing units and for Claude Bernard school. The remainder will be supplied by existing gas boilers. In total, the project will reduce CO2 emissions from the district's heating system by 50%.

 

Verbatim

"The realisation of this project is a source of pride for our company and all its employees, who have been involved in the initiative since the very beginning. It is a concrete example of Yoplait's commitment to constantly reduce the environmental impact of its operations. It also illustrates the factory's strong roots in Vienne's community, where it began operations back in 1965." 
Tristan Aubry, Manufacturing Director at Yoplait, Chief Executive of Yoplait Production France.

 

Key figures

  • Almost 800 social housing units heated 
  • Over 3,000 MWh of energy already recovered and, by the end of 2021, 5,000 MWh a year 
  • 50% reduction in CO2, equivalent to 1,300 times around the earth in a car over the contract's 15 years.

Alternative text

ENGIE x Yoplait

BUSINESS CASE

Comment recycler l'énergie fatale émise par une usine pour chauffer un quartier ?

Par NB6141@engie.com - 17 mai 2021 - 10:30

A Vienne, ENGIE Solutions, Yoplait Productions France et la Ville se sont associés pour utiliser l’énergie émise par les activités de l’industriel afin d'alimenter un quartier en chauffage. Un pas de plus vers une fourniture de chaleur décarbonée !

 

La solution d'ENGIE : valoriser l'énergie

La chaleur dite fatale est la chaleur résiduelle issue d’un procédé industriel et non consommée. Jusqu'à présent, cette chaleur produite dans le cadre de l'activité de l'usine Yoplait n'était pas exploitée. C’est désormais le cas depuis le 11 janvier 2021 grâce aux contrats d'une durée de 15 ans signés entre l'industriel ENGIE Solutions, le bailleur social Advivo, la Ville de Vienne (Isère) et l'Agglomération. Ils prévoient en effet la mise en place d'un système de récupération de la chaleur fatale pour la réinjecter dans un réseau de chaleur urbain.

 

Près de 800 logements alimentés

C'est le quartier du Grand Estressin, installé à proximité du site industriel dans le nord de Vienne, qui va bénéficier de cette installation, avec la mise en place de pompes à chaleur qui permettront d'injecter la chaleur fatale dans le réseau nouvellement créé. Objectif : alimenter en chauffage près de 800 logements sociaux du quartier ainsi que l'école Claude Bernard à hauteur de 60 % de leurs besoins. Le complément doit être assuré par les chaudières à gaz existantes. Au global, ce projet permettra de réduire de 50 % les émissions de CO2 liées au chauffage du quartier.

 

Citation

« L’aboutissement de ce projet est une fierté pour notre entreprise et pour l’ensemble des collaborateurs, impliqués dans cette initiative depuis sa genèse. Le projet marque de façon concrète l’engagement pris par Yoplait de réduire continuellement l’impact de ses opérations sur l’environnement. Il symbolise par ailleurs l’ancrage fort de l’usine au sein de la communauté viennoise, dans laquelle le site est installé depuis sa création, en 1965 ». 
Tristan Aubry, Directeur Industriel Yoplait, Président de Yoplait Production France.

 

Chiffres-clés

  • Près de 800 logements sociaux alimentés 
  • Plus de 3 000 MWh d’énergie valorisée et d’ici fin 2021, 5000 MWh par an 
  • -50 % de CO2 soit l’équivalent de 1 300 fois le tour de la terre en voiture sur les 15 ans du contrat.