Global care – Mitigation of health, safety and security risks

The Group's health & safety vigilance approach

For ENGIE, health & safety is a top priority. Protecting everyone’s life is at the heart of our socially responsible business action. ENGIE's collective objective is NO LIFE AT RISK, NO MIND AT RISK for everyone: Group employees, temporary workers, subcontractors and stakeholders.

 

A. Risk mapping

The mapping of health & safety risks is done as close as possible to the field by each entity, according to its activities and geographic locations. These risks are indeed very marked by the businesses and the environment in which they are carried out, and specific to each entity.

They are subject to periodic reviews in order to take into account all the changes in the businesses and the feedback from near-misses and work accidents.

The most serious accidents that have occurred within the Group relate to work at height, electrical work, lifting activities and road risks. These risks are the subject of training and specific awareness-raising (authorizations, guidelines, communication actions, etc.) as well as specific prevention rules.

 

 

B. Assessment of subsidiaries

The Group's Health & Safety Rules apply to all entities for which ENGIE holds operational management, regardless of their method of financial consolidation, in addition to the business rules issued by the subsidiaries. Various measures have been put in place to assess compliance with these rules by Group employees and subcontractors, as well as the control of health and safety risks. Safety visits are performed by managers, audits and inspections make it possible to assess the compliance of practices with the standards in force, risk reviews are held periodically, internal control questionnaires are completed each year, health & safety management reviews are held annually, audits of health and safety management systems are carried out.

In addition, Group entities are subject to internal audits by the Group Audit Department. These audits systematically include compliance with ENGIE's health & safety systems. Thematic audits can also be organized.

 

The Group's entities also conduct their own audit programs in addition, based on identified health & safety risks, or as part of a certification process for the entity's occupational health & safety management system (e.g. OHSAS 18001 certification, MASE certification in France or VCA in Belgium).

The industrial safety of the facilities in which the Group operates is under close attention through the implementation by the subsidiaries of dedicated management systems and specific investments. Audits of these sites are carried out regularly. ENGIE's Insurance Department therefore defines an annual audit program for the Group's industrial assets, which is entrusted to specialized external service providers. These audits specifically target the risks of fire, machine breakdown and natural disasters. The aim is to visit the Group's most important industrial assets at least once every 3 years.

External audits can also be carried out by local public authorities, depending on the applicable regulations (e.g.: periodic audits of so-called Seveso industrial installations in Europe, depending on the potential risks for goods, people and the environment).

 

 

C. Group health & safety policy

ENGIE has implemented a policy of excellence to ensure the best possible working conditions for Group employees around the world. To do this, the Group has set policies, signed European and global agreements, and defined a framework and rules to make everyone, leader, manager or employee, a committed player in their health & safety.

The Group has set itself ambitious objectives which are unique in that they concern everyone working for the Group, employees and subcontractors. They bear witness to our determination to do everything possible to eradicate workplace accidents, in particular the most serious of them.

 

a) Commitments

The ENGIE heath & safety policy details the 8 fundamental principles of the Group regarding Health & Safety:

  1. Taking risks into account in any decision-making process
  2. Participatory approach to the prevention of hazardous situations
  3. Promotion of a climate of trust and dialogue
  4. Classification of prevention
  5. Inter-comparison, sharing and feedback provision
  6. A prevention and protection level to our service providers equivalent to that of our employees
  7. Compliance with regulations and internal rules
  8. Crisis management preparation

 

These commitments, made by ENGIE for many years at European level within the framework of the Group Agreement on fundamental health and safety principles of 2010, were reinforced and extended from 2014 to the entire Group, by the Global Agreement. on health and safety at work concluded with employee representatives.

 

b) Risks management

The Group's health & safety principles and commitments are implemented within the framework of five-year action plans, to target the Group's priority health & safety actions, whether they are those successfully developed and which are to be continued, or news to be initiated to fuel our dynamic of sustainable progress.

Our 2021/2025 Health & Safety action plan aims at the overall protection of our employees and subcontractors, by covering all risks: prevention of risks directly linked to the performance of activities (health & safety at work: NO LIFE AT RISK), prevention of risks linked to the context of execution of activities (development of the quality of life at work and prevention of psychosocial risks: NO MIND AT RISK) and prevention of industrial risks (NO ASSET AT RISK).

 

visual people protection

 

c) Prevention of serious and fatal accidents

In accordance with the Group's Health & Safety Policy, the prevention of serious and fatal accidents is based on a prioritization of risk prevention aimed at implementing, in order of priority:

  1. measures eliminating risks at source
  2. organization and collective protection measures
  3. individual protection measures.

 

The protection measures deployed by the Group to contribute to the ambition of "NO LIFE AT RISK" are:

  • The nine Life Saving Rules, to be observed in all circumstances and by all.
  • The systematic identification, analysis and treatment of high potential severity events ("HiPo"), precursors of serious accidents.
  • Operators must stop their activities if all the safety conditions are not met (“Stop the work” approach).
  • Before any intervention, operators must carry out a last minute risk analysis ("the saving minute"), which consists in carrying out a new and final risk assessment in the field in order to ensure that they are under control.
  • Finally, the Group also expects its employees to pay attention to the safety of all other people, regardless of their status: colleagues, temporary workers, subcontractors, etc. (so-called “shared vigilance” system).

 

visual no life at risk en

 

> See the ENGIE brochure, Preventing serious and fatal accidents

 

d) Monitoring of results

Health & safety results are subject to operational monitoring through:

  • A health & safety reporting system incorporating reactive indicators (focused on the occurrence of accidents) and proactive indicators (making it possible to monitor the situation of entities before accidents occur).
  • The internal control process, several of which are devoted to occupational health & safety and industrial safety and which make it possible to ensure the effectiveness of the deployment of Group health & safety policies and rules in the entities. The various risk components and health & safety dimensions are covered by the processes devoted to industrial projects (IND1), operational industrial processes (operation & maintenance, IND2-IND3), industrial control system safety (IND4), crisis management and communication (COR5) and occupational health and safety / safety (COR8).
  • Managerial monitoring, during the annual Global Care review of each entity, between the manager and the health & safety managers of the entity, and the Group Global Care Department. During this review, the entity presents for the past year the evolution of its activities and risks, its health & safety results, the actions implemented, as well as its objectives, quantitative and qualitative, for the coming year.
  • Certification by the auditors, upstream of their annual publication in the Universal Registration Document.
  • Presentations and discussions:
    • with employee representatives of each Group entity
    • with employee representatives at Group level: health & safety topics (results, actions implemented to manage risks, changes in Group prevention measures, etc.) are monitored by the health, safety and quality of life at work working group of the ENGIE European Works Council twice a year.
    • with the ENGIE directors, via the Ethics, Environment and Sustainable Development Committee of the Board of Directors.

 

 

D. Report

The results and main health & safety actions are subject to a detailed publication in the annual Universal Registration Document.

If you have any questions about health, safety and security, you can contact global-care@engie.com.

Global care – Maîtrise des risques santé, sécurité, sûreté

Démarche de vigilance santé-sécurité du Groupe

Pour ENGIE, la santé-sécurité est une priorité absolue. La protection de la vie de tous est au cœur de notre action d’entreprise socialement responsable. L’objectif collectif d’ENGIE, c’est NO LIFE AT RISK, NO MIND AT RISK pour tous : salariés du Groupe, intérimaires, sous-traitants et parties prenantes.

 

A. Cartographie des risques

La cartographie des risques santé-sécurité est établie au plus près du terrain par chaque entité, en fonction de ses activités et de ses implantations géographiques. Ces risques sont en effet très marqués par les métiers et les environnements dans lesquels ils sont exercés, et propres à chaque entité.

Ils font l’objet de revues périodiques afin de prendre en compte toutes les évolutions des métiers et les retours d'expérience suite aux presqu’accidents et accidents du travail survenus.

Les accidents les plus graves survenus au sein du Groupe sont liés à des travaux en hauteur, des travaux électriques, aux activités de levage et aux risques routiers. Ces risques font l’objet de formations et de sensibilisations particulières (habilitations, guidelines, actions de communication, etc.) ainsi que de règles de prévention spécifiques.

 

 

B. Evaluation des filiales

Les Règles Santé-Sécurité du Groupe s’appliquent à toutes les entités dont ENGIE détient le management opérationnel, quel que soit leur mode de consolidation financière, en complément des règles métiers édictées par les filiales. Différentes dispositions sont mises en place pour évaluer le respect de ces règles par les collaborateurs du Groupe et par ses sous-traitants, ainsi que la maitrise des risques santé-sécurité. Des visites de sécurité sont organisées par les managers, des audits et inspections permettent d’apprécier la conformité des pratiques par rapport aux référentiels en vigueur, des revues de risques se tiennent périodiquement, des questionnaires de contrôle interne sont renseignés chaque année, des revues de direction santé-sécurité se tiennent annuellement, des audits des systèmes de management de santé-sécurité sont réalisés.

Par ailleurs, les entités du Groupe font l’objet d’audits internes par la Direction de l’Audit Groupe. Ces audits incluent systématiquement le respect des dispositifs santé-sécurité d’ENGIE. Des audits thématiques peuvent également être organisés.

 

Les entités du Groupe conduisent également leurs propres programmes d’audit en complément, en fonction des risques santé-sécurité identifiés, ou dans le cadre d’une démarche de certification du système de management de la santé-sécurité au travail de l’entité (ex : certification OHSAS 18001, certification MASE en France ou VCA en Belgique).

La sécurité industrielle des installations sur lesquelles le Groupe intervient fait l’objet d’une attention soutenue au travers de la mise en œuvre par les filiales de systèmes de management dédiés et d’investissements spécifiques. Des audits des installations concernées sont conduits régulièrement. Ainsi, la Direction des Assurances d’ENGIE définit-elle un programme annuel d’audit des actifs industriels du Groupe qui est confié à des prestataires externes spécialisés. Ces audits visent spécifiquement les risques incendie, bris de machines et catastrophes naturelles. L’objectif est de visiter les actifs industriels les plus importants du Groupe au moins une fois tous les 3 ans.

Des audits externes peuvent également être réalisés par les pouvoirs publics locaux, en fonction des réglementations applicables (ex : audits périodiques des installations industrielles dites Seveso en Europe, en fonction des risques potentiels pour les biens, les personnes et l’environnement).

 

 

C. Politique santé-sécurité du Groupe

ENGIE a mis en place une politique d’excellence pour assurer les meilleures conditions de travail possibles aux collaborateurs du Groupe à travers le monde. Pour cela, le Groupe a fixé des politiques, signé des accords européens et mondiaux, et défini un cadre et des règles pour faire de chacun, dirigeant, manager ou salarié, un acteur engagé de sa santé et de sa sécurité.

Le Groupe s’est donné des objectifs ambitieux qui ont la particularité de concerner toute personne travaillant pour le Groupe, collaborateurs comme sous-traitants. Ils témoignent de notre détermination à tout mettre en œuvre pour éradiquer les accidents du travail, en particulier les plus graves d’entre eux.

 

a) Engagements

La politique santé-sécurité d’ENGIE détaille les 8 principes fondamentaux du Groupe en matière de Santé-Sécurité :

  1. Prise en compte des risques dans tout processus de décision
  2. Démarche participative à la prévention des situations à risque
  3. Promotion d’un climat de confiance et d’échange
  4. Hiérarchisation de la prévention
  5. Inter-comparaison, partage et retour d’expérience
  6. Niveau de prévention et de protection pour nos prestataires au moins équivalent à celui de nos salariés
  7. Respect des règlementations et des règles internes
  8. Préparation à la gestion de crise

 

Ces engagements pris par ENGIE depuis de nombreuses années au niveau européen dans le cadre de l’Accord de Groupe sur les principes fondamentaux santé-sécurité de 2010, a été renforcé et étendu dès 2014 à l’ensemble du Groupe, par l’Accord Mondial sur la santé et la sécurité au travail conclu avec les représentants des salariés.

 

b) Gestion des risques

Les principes et engagements santé-sécurité du Groupe sont mis en œuvre dans le cadre de plans d’actions quinquennaux, pour cibler les actions santé-sécurité prioritaires du Groupe, qu’il s’agisse de celles développées avec succès qui sont à poursuivre, ou de nouvelles à initier pour alimenter notre dynamique de progrès durables.

Notre plan d’actions Santé Sécurité 2021-2025 vise à la protection globale de nos collaborateurs et sous-traitants, en couvrant l’ensemble des risques : prévention des risques directement liés à la réalisation des activités (santé sécurité au travail : NO LIFE AT RISK), prévention des risques liés au contexte d’exécution des activités (développement de la qualité de vie au travail et prévention des risques psychosociaux : NO MIND AT RISK) et prévention des risques industriels (NO ASSET AT RISK).

 

visuel protection des personnes

 

c) Prévention des accidents graves et mortels

Conformément à la Politique Santé et Sécurité du Groupe, la prévention des accidents graves et mortels s’appuie sur une hiérarchisation de la prévention des risques visant à mettre en œuvre, par ordre de priorité :

  1. des mesures éliminant les risques à la source
  2. des mesures d'organisation et de protection collective
  3. des mesures de protection individuelle.

 

Les mesures de protection déployées par le Groupe pour contribuer à l’ambition du « NO LIFE AT RISK » sont :

  • Les neuf Règles Qui Sauvent, à respecter en toutes circonstances et par tous. 
  • L’identification, l’analyse et le traitement systématiques des événements à haut potentiel de gravité (“HiPo”), précurseurs d’accidents graves. 
  • Les opérateurs doivent arrêter leurs activités si toutes les conditions de sécurité ne sont pas réunies (démarche “Stop the work”). 
  • Avant toute intervention, les opérateurs doivent faire une analyse de risque de dernière minute (« la minute qui sauve »), qui consiste à réaliser sur le terrain une nouvelle et dernière évaluation des risques afin de s’assurer que ceux-ci sont sous contrôle.
  • Enfin, le Groupe attend également de ses collaborateurs qu’ils soient attentifs à la sécurité de toutes les autres personnes, quel que soit leur statut : collègues, intérimaires, sous-traitants, etc. (dispositif dit de « vigilance partagée »).

 

visuel no life at risk fr

 

> Consulter la brochure Prévenir les accidents graves et mortels d’ENGIE

 

d) Suivi des résultats

Les résultats santé-sécurité font l’objet d’un suivi opérationnel au travers :

  • D’un dispositif de reporting santé-sécurité intégrant des indicateurs réactifs (centrés sur la survenue des accidents) et des indicateurs proactifs (permettant de suivre la situation des entités avant que les accidents ne se produisent).
  • Du processus de contrôle interne, dont plusieurs référentiels sont consacrés à la santé-sécurité au travail et à la sécurité industrielle et qui permettent de s’assurer de l’efficacité du déploiement des politiques et règles Groupe santé-sécurité dans les entités. Les différentes composantes des risques et des dimensions de santé sécurité sont couvertes par les processus consacrés aux projets industriels (IND1), aux process industriels opérationnels (opération & maintenance, IND2-IND3), à la sécurité des systèmes de contrôle industriel (IND4), à la gestion et communication de crise (COR5) et à la santé-sécurité au travail / sûreté (COR8).
  • D’un suivi managérial, lors de la revue annuelle Global Care de chaque entité, entre le dirigeant et les responsables santé-sécurité de l’entité, et la Direction Global Care Groupe. Lors de cette revue, l’entité présente pour l’année écoulée l’évolution de ses activités et risques, ses résultats santé-sécurité, les actions mises en œuvre, ainsi que ses objectifs, quantitatifs et qualitatifs, pour l’année à venir.
  • D’une certification par les commissaires aux comptes, en amont de leur publication annuelle dans le Document d’Enregistrement Universel.
  • De présentations et d’échanges :
    • avec les représentants du personnel au niveau de chaque entité du Groupe
    • avec les représentants du personnel au niveau du Groupe : les sujets santé-sécurité (résultats, actions mises en œuvre pour maîtriser les risques, évolution des mesures de prévention du Groupe, etc.) sont suivis par le groupe de travail santé-sécurité et qualité de vie au travail semestriel du Comité d’Entreprise Européen d’ENGIE.
    • avec les administrateurs d’ENGIE, via le Comité pour l’Ethique, l’Environnement et le Développement Durable du Conseil d’Administration.

 

 

D.    Compte-rendu

Les résultats et principales actions santés-sécurité font l’objet d’une publication détaillée dans le Document d’Enregistrement Universel annuel.
Pour toute question relative à la santé-sécurité vous pouvez contacter : global-care@engie.com.