Alternative text

ENGIE x Faurecia

How can we support an industrial company with a global footprint in its carbon neutral plan?

By ENGIE - 13 June 2022 - 16:44

Determined to become carbon neutral by 2025 on scopes 1 and 2*, Faurecia, a major player in the global automobile industry, owned by the FORVIA group, is committed to the "use less and use better" principles and improving its energy independence by reducing its energy procurement by 25% from 2023. To meet this challenge, Faurecia has entered into a long-term partnership with ENGIE. 

 

The ENGIE solution, a comprehensive partnership that is split into two phases: an energy efficiency programme and local, renewable and decarbonised energy generation

To support Faurecia on its journey towards carbon neutrality, ENGIE Impact, the ENGIE Group entity that specialises in services and solutions dedicated to sustainable development, is providing a comprehensive end-to-end service.

The first phase was rolled out in July 2021 with the reduction in energy consumption through the deployment of innovative digital energy management solutions and the installation of more energy efficient equipment on 120 sites in Europe, China, Brazil, the United States and Mexico. The roll out of this vast energy performance programme is scheduled to be completed in early 2023 and will enable the automobile specialist to reduce its energy consumption by 15%**. 

 

Solar energy financed through PPAs

In March 2022, Faurecia entrusted ENGIE with the supply, installation, operation and maintenance of electricity generation units using solar energy in 14 countries. By the end of 2022, no less than 30% of the total renewable electricity generation capacity will already be in service. And, when maximum generation capacity is achieved at the end of 2023, the solar panels will have a total capacity of over 60MW, over a total area of around 60 hectares. Each of the sites will have its own renewable and decarbonised energy, with enough capacity for its needs.

These installations are financed through Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs), which meets Faurecia's requirement of not investing directly in the means of generation while benefiting locally from the energy generated. The 2nd stage of the partnership will increase Faurecia's energy independence by 7% compared to 2019 and represents a major step in its decarbonisation programme.

 

 

"Renewable energy generation on our sites is a key commitment to achieve our goal of carbon neutrality. This strategic collaboration with first-rate global partners enables us to speed up and improve our energy resilience in a more sustainable way. ”
Patrick Koller, Managing Director of Forvia

 

 

Key figures about the partnership

  • 120 sites in which energy solutions are being rolled out until the end of 2023. 
  • 14 countries in which Faurecia sites will be home to solar panels (France, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, United Kingdom, Brazil, India, Mexico, Morocco, South Africa).
  • Around 60 hectares, the overall surface area covered by solar panels, with a maximum generation capacity of 60 MW.
  • 10 years, the term of the Energy Performance Contracts.
  • 15 years, the term of validity of the PPAs.
  • Over 400, the number of Faurecia employees involved on a daily basis in this partnership.
  • 2025, Faurecia's carbon neutrality goal for scopes 1 and 2, 2050 for all 3 scopes.

 

*Direct emissions (scope 1) and indirect emissions linked to energy consumption (Scope 2). Scope 3 covers other indirect emissions.
**Based on a consumption baseline of 600 GWh.

Alternative text

ENGIE x Faurecia

Comment accompagner un industriel d’envergure mondiale dans sa démarche de neutralité carbone ?

Par ENGIE - 13 juin 2022 - 16:32

Déterminé à atteindre la neutralité carbone à l’horizon 2025 sur les scopes 1 et 2*, Faurecia, acteur majeur de l’industrie automobile mondiale, appartenant au Groupe FORVIA, s’engage pour « utiliser moins, utiliser mieux » (« use less and use better principles ») et accroître son indépendance énergétique en réduisant de 25 % ses achats d’énergie dès 2023. Pour relever ce défi, Faurecia a noué un partenariat de long terme avec ENGIE.

 

La solution ENGIE, un partenariat global qui active deux volets : un programme d’efficacité énergétique et une production d’énergie locale, renouvelable et décarbonée

Pour accompagner Faurecia dans sa feuille de route vers la neutralité carbone, ENGIE Impact, entité du Groupe ENGIE spécialisée dans les services et solutions dédiées au développement durable, assure une prestation globale end-to-end.

Un premier volet a été initié en juillet 2021 avec la réduction de la consommation d’énergie par le déploiement de solutions digitales de management de l’énergie innovantes et l’installation d’équipements moins énergivores, sur 120 sites en Europe, en Chine, au Brésil, aux Etats-Unis et au Mexique. Ce vaste programme de performance énergétique vise une fin de déploiement début 2023 et permet au spécialiste automobile de réduire de 15 % sa consommation d’énergie**.

 

L’énergie solaire financée par des PPA

En mars 2022, Faurecia a confié à ENGIE le soin de fournir, installer, exploiter et maintenir des unités de production d’électricité à partir d’énergie solaire dans 14 pays. D’ici la fin de l’année 2022, pas moins de 30 % de la capacité totale de production d’électricité renouvelable sera déjà en service. Et, lorsque la puissance de production aura atteint son maximum fin 2023, les panneaux solaires auront une capacité totale de plus de 60 MW, sur une surface globale d’environ 60 hectares. Chacun des sites assurera alors sa propre énergie renouvelable et décarbonée, dans des volumes adaptés à ses besoins.

Ces installations sont financées via des Power Purchase Agreements (PPA), ce qui répond ainsi à la demande de Faurecia de ne pas investir directement dans les moyens de production tout en profitant localement de l’énergie produite. Ce 2e volet du partenariat améliore de 7 % l’indépendance énergétique de Faurecia par rapport à 2019 et marque une étape majeure dans sa démarche de décarbonation.

 

 

« La production d'énergie renouvelable sur nos sites est un engagement central pour atteindre notre objectif de neutralité carbone. Cette collaboration stratégique avec des partenaires mondiaux de premier plan nous permet d'accélérer et d'améliorer notre résilience énergétique de façon plus durable. »
Patrick Koller, Directeur Général de Forvia

 

 

Les chiffres-clés du partenariat

  • 120 sites dans lesquels des solutions énergétiques sont déployées jusqu’à fin 2023. 
  • 14 pays dans lesquels des sites Faurecia accueilleront des panneaux solaires (France, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Roumanie, Slovaquie, République Tchèque, Allemagne, Hongrie, Royaume-Uni, Brésil, Inde, Mexique, Maroc, Afrique du Sud).
  • Environ 60 hectares, la surface globale occupée par les panneaux solaires, d’une capacité de production maximale de 60 MW.
  • 10 ans, la durée des Contrats de Performance Energétique.
  • 15 ans, la durée de validité des PPA.
  • Plus de 400, le nombre de collaborateurs Faurecia quotidiennement impliqués dans ce partenariat.
  • 2025, l’objectif de neutralité carbone de Faurecia sur les scopes 1 et 2, 2050 sur les 3 scopes. 

 

*Emissions directes (scope 1) et émissions indirectes liées à la consommation d’énergie (Scope 2). Le scope 3 désignent les autres émissions indirectes.
**Sur la base d’une référence de consommation de 600 GWh.