GREEN RECOVERY

Video – Jean-Pierre Clamadieu: using Climate Week as an opportunity to take action

By ENGIE - 22 September 2020 - 15:10

Climate Week runs from 21 to 27 September in New York and is a global event attended by governments, company leaders and NGOs, all there to discuss climate issues. The ENGIE Group is represented by ENGIE Impact, which will be sponsoring the Live Hub throughout the week. Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of ENGIE’s Board of Directors, used the first day of the event to remind people of the week's aims: a crucial opportunity to take action. 

 

During the interview he gave to the Climate Group (one of ENGIE Impact's partners), Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of ENGIE's Board of Directors, reminded us of our duty to facilitate a green recovery at a time when the pandemic has shown just how "fragile our societies are" when up against nature. He pointed out that over the last few years,  ENGIE has transformed its model to ensure that its business and the creation of value are compatible with the transition over to carbon neutrality.

Find the five key moments of his intervention:

 

Climate Week – a crucial event for speeding up the transition

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu: "Climate Week is a crucial opportunity to gather world leaders together to talk about climate issues and engage in direct and critical discussion about the challenges facing us all. But it shouldn't just be a simple discussion: each and every leader needs to be ready to take action".

 

The green recovery – a historical opportunity

J-P C: "Most of the recovery plans being implemented throughout the world are heavily weighted towards the ecological transition and tackling climate change. So there are many opportunities for us to speed up our response to climate change – which will be the next major global crisis. We are delighted that attention is currently being paid to hydrogen and energy efficiency – in Europe in particular”.

 

ENGIE's purpose: transition towards carbon-neutrality

J-P C: "Our purpose is to focus on the transition towards carbon-neutrality and to act for it. Practically, we have decided this year to speed up the exit from coal that we started a few years ago”.

 

ENGIE is doing more with renewables

J-P C: “This year, we have decided to massively step up our investment in renewables. Renewables account for an increasingly significant share of the energy mixes in many countries. ENGIE is a major developer in renewables and has decided to invest several billions of euros in the sector. We currently have annual installed capacity of 3 GW. In the short term, we want to bring this up to 4 GW.

 

We have also earmarked a certain number of urban structures, heating and refrigeration networks and charging stations as new priorities. We want to use these resources to support local authorities and governments in what they are doing to tackle climate change". 
 

 

ENGIE Impact, a tool to help us achieve carbon neutrality

J-P C: “Last year, we used Climate Week to launch ENGIE Impact (partnering this year's event), our strategic consultancy organisation which focuses on major companies and communities, helping them to implement roadmaps to achieve carbon neutrality. One year later, we have developed a number of programmes and projects which are already starting to show results. Climate Week will be an opportunity to re-establish contact with some of the stakeholders who witnessed the birth of ENGIE Impact and show them the progress we have made and provide evidence of the benefits that this strategy has for climate".

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

RELANCE VERTE

Vidéo - Jean-Pierre Clamadieu : profiter de la Climate Week pour “passer à l’action”

Par ENGIE - 22 septembre 2020 - 12:37

Rendez-vous mondial qui rassemble gouvernements, chefs d’entreprise et ONG autour de la question du climat, la Climate Week a lieu à New-York du 21 au 27 septembre. Le Groupe ENGIE est présent via ENGIE Impact, sponsor du Hub Live durant toute la semaine. Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Président du Conseil d’Administration d’ENGIE, a saisi l’occasion le premier jour pour rappeler les enjeux de cette semaine : un moment crucial pour passer à l’action. 

 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Président du Conseil d’Administration d’ENGIE, interrogé par The Climate Group, partenaire de ENGIE Impact, a rappelé le devoir d’une relance verte alors que la crise sanitaire a montré “la fragilité de nos sociétés” face à la nature. Ces dernières années, rappelle-t-il, ENGIE a transformé son modèle pour s’assurer que ses activités et la création de valeur générée soient compatibles avec la transition vers la neutralité carbone.

Retrouvez les cinq moments-clés de son intervention :

 

La Climate Week événement crucial pour accélérer la transition

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu : « La Climate Week est un moment crucial pour réunir les leaders mondiaux engagés autour de la question climatique pour des échanges directs et critiques autour des défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés, mais cela ne peut se limiter à une simple discussion et chaque leader doit être prêt à passer à l'action. » 

 

La relance verte, une opportunité historique

J-P C : « La plupart des plans de relance, qu’on voit partout dans le monde, ont une forte part consacrée à la transition écologique et à la lutte contre le changement climatique. Il y a donc beaucoup d’opportunités pour faire en sorte que nous accélérions notre réponse face au déréglement climatique, qui sera la prochaine grande crise mondiale. Nous nous félicitons de voir en ce moment une attention particulière pour l’hydrogène et l’efficacité énergétique, notamment en Europe. » 

 

La raison d’être d’ENGIE : la transition vers la neutralité carbone

J-P C : « Notre raison d’être c’est agir concrètement pour la transition vers la neutralité carbone. Pour nous, cette année, cela passe par une accélération de la sortie du charbon engagée depuis plusieurs années. »

 

ENGIE accélère dans les renouvelables

J-P C : « Cette année, nous avons décidé d’accélérer fortement nos investissements dans les renouvelables. Ces énergies sont de plus en plus importantes dans le mix énergétique de beaucoup de pays. ENGIE est un développeur majeur de renouvelables et a décidé d’investir plusieurs milliards dans le secteur. Aujourd’hui, nous développons 3 GW de capacités installées chaque année. Nous voulons atteindre 4 GW à court terme.

Nous avons aussi identifié un certain nombre d’infrastructures urbaines, des réseaux de chaleur et de froid, des stations de recharge comme de nouvelles priorités. Nous voulons profiter de ces ressources pour soutenir les autorités locales et les gouvernements dans leur lutte contre le changement climatique. » 

 

ENGIE Impact, outil pour atteindre la neutralité carbone

J-P C : « L’année dernière, nous avions profité de la Climate Week pour lancer ENGIE Impact (partenaire de l’événement), notre organisation de conseil stratégique qui se concentre sur les grandes entreprises et collectivités, pour les aider à mettre en place des feuilles de route pour atteindre la neutralité carbone. Un an après, nous avons développé un certain nombre de programmes et projets qui montrent déjà des résultats. La Climate Week sera l’occasion de reprendre le contact avec les acteurs qui ont vu naître ENGIE Impact pour leur montrer les progrès accomplis et prouver l’intérêt de cette stratégie pour le climat. » 

Votre avis sur nos contenus nous intéresse. Aidez-nous à les améliorer, en répondant à ce questionnaire.