GREEN RECOVERY

Climate Week: the time has come...

By ENGIE - 21 September 2020 - 16:52

Why is Climate Week an essential event for the planet? As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to dictate agendas throughout the world, Climate Week looks set to remind us that little has changed regarding the other major challenge facing the planet: climate change. How can we capitalise on what we have learned from this health crisis and more effectively tackle the climate emergency? ENGIE will be at this global event via ENGIE Impact, partnering the NYC Climate Week with The Climate Group. 

 

"We need to continue delivering a green recovery that is both resilient and inclusive. By focusing our efforts on a profound ecological transformation and creating jobs, our recovery plans can guide growth towards resilient, low-carbon intensity pathways, thus helping us to meet the sustainable development goals". In June of this year, when the United Nations Environment Programme was launched focusing on "Urban spaces in the time of COVID-19”, António Guterres, secretary-general of the UN, declared that the moment had come to take advantage of this historical moment: “at a time when we are reacting to the pandemic and working on the recovery, we look upon our towns and cities as centres for community, human innovation and genius. The time has come to recover and be stronger than before, building towns that are more resistant, more inclusive and more sustainable".1

 

A historical fall in CO2 emissions over six months

One of the effects of the pandemic has been a historical fall in CO2 emissions this year2. Indeed, there has been a reduction of around 8% – that's 2.6 Gt out of a total of 33 Gt in 2019, bringing the level down to approximately what it was in 2010: 30 Gt. This reduction is equivalent to twice the total CO2 reduction since the Second World War, and six times the fall that resulted from the 2007-2008 financial crisis (-0.3 Gt). 

 

However, we should not expect any long-term effects. Unsurprisingly, emissions should start to rise again as the world's economies implement massive recovery plans that are still largely based on fossil energies (nearly 80%) – unless investment goes into clean energies and resilient infrastructure. 

 

Billions of dollars for the recovery

Following on from the health emergency that started in the first few months of this year, billions of dollars are now being channelled into the first economic recovery plans. In Europe, the recovery fund approved by the 27 members of the European Union totals an unprecedented €750 billion. In France alone, the government has just launched a €100 billion recovery plan, €30 billion of which has been earmarked for the ecological transition.

Find out more about Green recovery

 

Increasingly committed stakeholders

In an article on the opportunities of Climate Week – of which our Group is the main sponsor through the ENGIE Impact entity, Mathias Lelièvre, CEO of ENGIE Impact, highlights a number of positive indicators that have arisen from this crisis which could be a source of inspiration in tackling the climate emergency: the desire that stakeholders now have – companies and citizens alike – to take action and tackle a common cause.

 

Similarly, people expect powerful societal commitments from companies: the pandemic has revealed a significant change in consumers' expectations. 

 

For example, ENGIE has continued with its essential missions to maintain the energy supply to critical services and buildings – such as hospital or transport infrastructure. And in addition to that, the Group has taken action to create two welfare schemes that it has deployed throughout the world: welfare protection for all of its employees and financial support for its small suppliers and – in France – two months of free electricity for 600,000 people who have been rendered vulnerable by the COVID-19 crisis.

 

According to the Edelman Trust Barometer, the vast majority of them are expecting brands to change their products, protect their employees and team up with the local authorities to inform the general public.

 

“At ENGIE, we have decided to give ourselves a purpose – a reason for being. At the general shareholders' meeting, ENGIE's shareholders decided on its articles of association (…). Our purpose statement explains that we are seeking to reconcile economic performance with having a positive impact on both people and the planet (…)” Claire Waysand, Interim CEO, Powering the green recovery through public private partner”, Forum of the Americas, Miami Conference, 1/09/20

 

The pandemic has changed corporate agendas, but for many companies, it has confirmed or even accelerated their CSR strategy", says Mathias Lelièvre.

 

The week for taking action for the next 10 years

According to the experts, the situation is urgent: we only have 10 years to reach the goals that were set at the COP21 in 2015, namely limiting global temperature rises to 2°C – or even 1.5°C – which involves reducing greenhouse gas emissions.  Solutions do exist – examples of energies are being brought together in New York. Now is the time to act to speed up the transition to a carbon-neutral world. 

 

About Climate Week NYC

New York is hosting the eleventh edition of Climate Week in collaboration with the United Nations from 21 to 27 September. Through its Hub Live, ENGIE Impact is one of its main sponsors. With over 150,000 attendees expected from all over the world, it is the climate event of the year. It brings together stakeholders to discuss climate – governments, companies and NGOs – and is an opportunity to engage in discussion within the framework of 350 events categorised according to 10 themes. Watch the event live or stream it over the Hub content

 

Do not miss the appointments :

  • Monday 21/09 3 :30 PM (eastern Time) ; 21h30 (Paris Time) : Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of the Board of Directors will speak in a video broadcast on The Climate Group's site
  • Tuesday 22/09 9h45-11h25 Eastern Time: Chance of a Lifetime ? how governments and businesses are achieving a green economic recovery : with Mathias Lelièvre, CEO ENGIE Impact Impact  
  • Wednesday 23/09  08h00 -9h30 Eastern Time: RE100 Members ‘ Forum : ENGIENorthAmerica is a sponsor of the RE100 Leadership Award which will reward the winners during Climate Week. This initiative, led by The Climate Group in partnership with CDP, brings together 250 of the largest companies committed to 100% renewable energy. Gwenaëlle Avice-Huet, ENGIE Managing Director, and CEO ENGIE North America, will present the RE100 Leadership Award to the company that goes furthest in the Transition to 100% Renewable Electricity. (Waiting for time)

 

 

1https://www.unenvironment.org/news-and-stories/story/cities-where-fight-green-recovery-will-be-won-or-lost
2 Nature Climate Change, May, 19 2020 ; IEA Global Energy review 2020 – Covid-19 impacts on energy and CO2 emissions, April, 28 2020 ; Enerdata Bilan énergétique mondial – 2020 Issue, May 2020

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

RELANCE VERTE

Climate Week : le moment est venu…

Par ENGIE - 21 septembre 2020 - 16:37

Pourquoi la Climate Week de New York est-elle le rendez-vous incontournable de la planète ? Alors que la pandémie du COVID-19 continue de dicter les agendas dans le monde, la Climate Week vient rappeler l’autre défi majeur resté en suspens : le changement climatique. Comment capitaliser sur ce que nous a appris la crise sanitaire pour mieux répondre à l’urgence climatique ? ENGIE sera présent à ce rendez-vous mondial, via ENGIE Impact, comme sponsor de la plateforme Hub Live de la Climate Week. 

 

"Nous devons poursuivre une reprise économique verte, résiliente et inclusive. En se concentrant sur une transformation écologique profonde et la création d'emplois, les plans de relance peuvent orienter la croissance vers une voie à faible intensité carbone et résiliente et faire ainsi progresser les objectifs de développement durable". En Juin dernier, à l’occasion du lancement du Programme des Nations-Unies Environnement (UNEP) sur « L’espace urbain à l’ère du COVID-19 », António Guterres, Secrétaire général de l’ONU déclarait qu’il était temps de profiter de ce moment historique : « alors que nous réagissons à la pandémie et travaillons à la reprise, nous considérons nos villes comme des centres de communauté, d'innovation humaine et d'ingéniosité. Le moment est venu de mieux se redresser, en construisant des villes plus résistantes, inclusives et durables. »1

 

Un recul historique des émissions de CO2 en six mois

L’un des effets de la crise sanitaire est d’avoir permis une réduction historique des émissions de CO2 en 20202. Le recul est de l’ordre de 8%, soit 2,6 Gt sur un total de 33Gt en 2019 - approximativement leur niveau de 2010 de 30Gt. Cette réduction équivaut au double de l’ensemble des réductions de CO2 depuis la seconde guerre mondiale, et à six fois plus que la baisse liée à la crise financière 2007-2008 (-0,3 Gt). 

 

Pas d’effet long terme en revanche à attendre. Sans surprise, les rejets devraient toutefois repartir à la hausse avec les plans de relance massifs des économies, encore largement basées sur les énergies fossiles (près de 80%) à moins que les investissements soient dédiés aux énergies propres et infrastructures résilientes.

 

Des milliards de dollars pour la relance 

Après l’urgence sanitaire des premiers mois de l’année, les premiers plans de relance économique sont en train de mobiliser des milliards de dollars. A l’échelle de l’Europe, le fonds de relance approuvé par les 28 membres de l’Union européenne, inédit par son ampleur, annonce 750 milliards d'euros. Rien qu’en France, le gouvernement vient de lancer un plan de relance de 100 milliards dont 30 consacrés au financement de la transition écologique.

En savoir plus sur la relance verte

 

Des parties prenantes de plus en plus engagées

Mathias Lelièvre, CEO ENGIE Impact, relève dans un article sur les opportunités de la Climate Week dont notre Groupe est sponsor via l’entité ENGIE Impact, des indicateurs positifs issus de la crise, leviers d’inspiration dans la lutte pour le climat : la volonté des parties prenantes – entreprises et citoyens - à se mobiliser pour une cause commune.

 

De même, les citoyens attendent des entreprises un engagement sociétal fort : cette pandémie a révélé un changement significatif dans les attentes des consommateurs. 

 

ENGIE a par exemple assuré ses missions essentielles de maintien de l’approvisionnement énergétique des services et des bâtiments critiques comme les hôpitaux ou les transports. Mais bien au-delà, notre Groupe s’est mobilisé en créant 2 dispositifs de solidarité déployés dans le monde : une protection sociale pour l’ensemble de ses salariés et un soutien financier à ses petits fournisseurs et, en France, 2 mois d’électricité gratuits à 600000 particuliers fragilisés par la crise du COVID-19.

 

Selon le baromètre de confiance Edelman, dans leur grande majorité, ils attendent des marques qu’elles modifient leurs produits, protègent leurs employés, s'associent avec les pouvoirs publics et informent le public.

 

« Chez ENGIE, nous avons décidé d’adopter une Raison d’être, un Purpose. Ce sont les actionnaires d’ENGIE lors de l’Assemblée générale qui ont décidé des statuts de l’entreprise (…) Notre raison d’être explique que nous cherchons à réconcilier la performance économique avec un impact positif les personnes et la planète. (…) » Claire Waysand, Directrice Générale par intérim, “Powering the green recovery through public private partner”, Forum des Amériques, Conférence de Miami, 1/09/20

 

« La pandémie a changé les agendas des entreprises, mais pour beaucoup d’entre elles, cela a confirmé, voire accéléré leur stratégie RSE. », conclut Mathias Lelièvre.

 

La semaine pour agir pour les 10 ans à venir

Selon les experts, il y a urgence : il ne reste que 10 ans pour atteindre les objectifs adoptés lors de la COP21 en 2015, à savoir limiter la hausse de température à 2°C, voire 1,5°, ce qui exige une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.  Les solutions existent, les énergies sont rassemblées à New York. C’est le moment d’agir pour accélérer la transition vers un monde neutre en carbone. 

 

 

A propos de la Climate Week NYC

New York accueille la Climate Week pour sa 11ème édition, du 21 au 27 septembre, en coopération avec les Nations Unies. Evénement dont ENGIE Impact est l’un des principaux sponsors, notamment au travers du Hub Live. Avec plus de 150 000  participants attendus du monde entier, c’est l’événement de l’année sur le climat. Il rassemble toutes les parties prenantes sur le climat : gouvernements, entreprises, ONG et permet des discussions au travers de 350 événements classés en 10 thèmes.

Suivez en direct ou en replay l’évènement sur le Hub content de la Climate Week

 

Les rendez-vous à ne pas rater : 

  • Lundi 21/09, 3 :30 PM (eastern Time) ; 21h30 (Paris Time) : Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Président du Conseil d’Administration prendra la parole dans une vidéo diffusée  sur le site de The Climate Group ;
  • Mardi 22/09, 9h45-11h25 Eastern Time : La chance d’une vie ? comment les gouvernements et les entreprises parviennent à une reprise économique verte. Participation  de Mathias Lelièvre, Directeur Général d’ENGIE Impact ;
  • Mercredi 23/09 : 08h00 -9h30 Eastern Time :  RE100 Members ‘ Forum : ENGIENorthAmerica est sponsor du RE100 Leadership Award qui récompensera les gagnants durant la semaine de Climate Week. Cette initiative menée par The Climate Group en partenariat avec CDP, rassemble les 250 plus grosses entreprises engagées pour une énergie 100% renouvelable. Gwenaëlle Avice-Huet, Directrice Générale Adjointe ENGIE, et CEO ENGIE North America, remettra le prix du RE100 Leadership Award à l’entreprise qui va le plus loin dans la Transition vers une électricité 100% renouvelable.

 

 

1https://www.unenvironment.org/news-and-stories/story/cities-where-fight-green-recovery-will-be-won-or-lost
2 Sources : Nature Climate Change, 19 mai 2020 ; IEA Global Energy review 2020 – Covid-19 impacts on energy and CO2 emissions, 28 Avril 2020 ; Enerdata Bilan énergétique mondial - Édition 2020, Mai 2020
 

Votre avis sur nos contenus nous intéresse. Aidez-nous à les améliorer, en répondant à ce questionnaire.