Alternative text
SHAREHOLDERS

Covid-19: Message from Jean-Pierre Clamadieu

By ENGIE - 02 April 2020 - 18:00

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Président du Conseil d’Administration d’ENGIE

Dear Shareholders,  

 

The world is facing a pandemic on an unprecedented scale, resulting in a health and economic crisis. 

 

First of all, I would like to stress the essential role that your Group plays in managing infrastructures and facilities essential to everyday life, health, supply and, more broadly, to the maintain of the country's economic activity in the best possible operational conditions. This continuity of activity is based on an organization of work adapted in accordance with health protection measures, the Group's top priority being the health and safety of all its stakeholders, in particular its employees. I want to testify to you the exemplary commitment of ENGIE's management and all its employees in handling this crisis. 

 

Many of you have expressed your concerns on the impact of this crisis on your Company. Your concerns are perfectly legitimate and were discussed in the Board of Directors held on April 1st

 

In response to the current health and economic crisis, the Group has taken the following actions:

  • an adaptation plan to protect employees and sustain ENGIE’s essential services
  • a strengthened liquidity position, reinforced by recent €2.5bn bond placement
  • a withdrawn of the 2020 guidance
  • the maintain of the Shareholders' Meeting as expected on May 14th, in a remote format without physical attendance
  • a cancel of the dividend that should have been paid for 2019. 

 

The study of the impacts of the current health and economic crisis has convinced the Board of Directors of the Group's ability to maintain strong balance sheet and liquidity and overcome this crisis. Nevertheless, uncertainties about the duration and depth of it and how it could continue to affect some of our activities, particularly Customer Solutions, which deploys a large number of teams on the ground in a normal situation led us to decide to cancel the payment of the 2019 dividend, i.e. 1.9 billion euros scheduled in May.  

 

The Board of Directors is fully aware of the major effort that is being asked to our shareholders, in a context already marked by the drop in the stock markets. This decision, taken in a spirit of prudence and responsibility towards the company and all our stakeholders, will give the Group the financial flexibility it needs to return as quickly as possible to sustainable growth as soon as the crisis is over and its ability to pay dividends to its shareholders again.  

 

As you know, ENGIE is committed to the quality of its relationship with you and the General Meeting is a key moment for that. The Group will pay particular attention to the respect of shareholders' rights in the current environment. We will come back to you shortly on the modalities of participation in the General Meeting of May 14th, which will be held in a remote format without physical presence. In this exceptional context, you can count on the availability of the Shareholders' Relations team that is mobilized to accompany you and answer your questions.

 

Finally, I will come to meet you as soon as possible during the second half of the year in the context of shareholders meetings. 

 

Please find the press release published on April 1, 2020 on the Group's actions in response to the current health and economic crisis. 

 

You can, dear Shareholders, count on the commitment of the Board of Directors and myself to enable the Group to get through this crisis and return to sustainable growth.

 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu
Chairman of ENGIE Board of Directors

 

  • Shareholders relations contact:
    relation@actionnaires.engie.com
    From France: 0 800 30 00 30
    From Belgium: 0 800 25 125
    (Free call from a landline Monday to Friday from 9am to 6pm)

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

Alternative text
ACTIONNAIRES

Covid-19 : message de Jean-Pierre Clamadieu aux actionnaires

Par ENGIE - 02 avril 2020 - 13:22

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Président du Conseil d’Administration d’ENGIE

Cher(e)s Actionnaires,  

 

Le monde est confronté à une pandémie d’une ampleur inédite, entraînant une crise à la fois sanitaire et économique.

 

Je tiens tout d’abord à souligner le rôle essentiel que joue votre Groupe dans la gestion d’infrastructures et d’installations essentielles à la vie quotidienne, à la santé, à l’approvisionnement et, plus largement, au maintien de l’activité économique du pays dans les meilleures conditions d’exploitation possibles. Cette continuité de l'activité repose sur une organisation de travail adaptée dans le respect des mesures de protection sanitaire, la priorité absolue du Groupe étant la santé et la sécurité de l'ensemble de ses parties prenantes, en particulier de ses collaborateurs. Je tiens à vous témoigner l’engagement exemplaire de l’encadrement et de l'ensemble des collaborateurs d'ENGIE dans la gestion de cette crise.

 

Vous avez été nombreux à nous faire part de votre inquiétude sur les impacts de cette crise sur votre Groupe. Vos préoccupations sont parfaitement légitimes et ont été discutées au sein du Conseil d’Administration qui s’est tenu le 1er avril.  

 

En réponse à cette crise sanitaire et économique, votre Groupe a pris les décisions suivantes :  

  • un plan d’adaptation pour protéger les salariés et soutenir les services essentiels du Groupe
  • un renforcement des liquidités avec en particulier un récent placement obligataire de 2,5 Mds€
  • un retrait des objectifs financiers pour 2020
  • le maintien de l’Assemblée Générale comme prévu le 14 mai, dans un format à distance sans présence physique
  • une annulation du dividende qui aurait dû être versé au titre de 2019.

 

L’étude des impacts de la crise sanitaire et économique actuelle a convaincu le Conseil d’Administration de la capacité du Groupe à maintenir un bilan et une liquidité solides et à surmonter cette crise. Néanmoins, les incertitudes sur la durée et la profondeur de celle-ci et la manière dont elle pourrait continuer à affecter certaines de nos activités, et tout particulièrement les Solutions Clients qui déploient de très nombreuses équipes sur le terrain en temps normal, nous ont conduit à décider d’annuler le versement du dividende 2019, soit 1,9 Md€ prévu en mai prochain.

 

Le Conseil a pleinement conscience de l’effort majeur qui est demandé aux actionnaires dans un contexte déjà marqué par la chute des marchés boursiers. Cette décision, prise dans un esprit de prudence et de responsabilité vis-à-vis de l’entreprise et de l’ensemble de ses parties prenantes, permet au Groupe de disposer de la flexibilité financière nécessaire pour retrouver le plus rapidement possible le chemin d’une croissance durable dès la sortie de crise et sa capacité à verser à nouveau des dividendes à ses actionnaires.

 

Vous le savez, ENGIE est attaché à la qualité de sa relation avec vous et l’Assemblée Générale est un moment clé pour cela. Le Groupe sera particulièrement attentif au respect des droits des actionnaires dans le contexte actuel. Nous reviendrons vers vous très prochainement sur les modalités de participation à l’Assemblée Générale du 14 mai qui se tiendra à distance sans présence physique. Dans ce contexte exceptionnel, vous pouvez compter sur la disponibilité de l’équipe Relations Actionnaires qui est mobilisée pour vous accompagner et répondre à vos questions.

 

Enfin, je viendrai à votre rencontre dès que cela sera possible au cours du deuxième semestre à l’occasion de réunions d’actionnaires.

 

Retrouvez le communiqué de presse publié le 01/04/2020 sur les actions mises en œuvre par le Groupe en réponse à la crise sanitaire et économique actuelle.

 

Vous pouvez, cher(e)s Actionnaires, compter sur l’engagement du Conseil d’Administration et de mon engagement personnel pour permettre au Groupe de surmonter cette crise et retrouver le chemin d’une croissance durable.

 

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu
Président du Conseil d’Administration d’ENGIE

 

  • Contact Relations Actionnaires :
    relation@actionnaires.engie.com
    Depuis la France : 0 800 30 00 30
    Depuis la Belgique : 0 800 25 125
    (Appel gratuit depuis un poste fixe du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 18h)

Votre avis sur nos contenus nous intéresse. Aidez-nous à les améliorer, en répondant à ce questionnaire.