GREEN IT

What if we “data gamed” to raise awareness of data?

By ENGIE - 09 November 2020 - 11:53

The ENGIE Data Games are here! The goal? To train the Group’s 170,000 employees in data. The method? An in-house gaming competition to take ENGIE from the pre- to the post-Data Games era!

 

 

Data: a game for experts only?

Data is everywhere in our daily lives, from weather forecasts to online shopping. And in businesses, the quantity of data that is stored and exchanged has risen sharply, partly due to the new social distancing rules. But this strategically important subject can also seem difficult. 
ENGIE has opted for gamification to help its employees feel at home with this subject and acquire the “data reflex”. Gamification calls on the principles of games to facilitate the learning and awareness of complex subjects. 
What is at stake with ENGIE’s Data Games? Transforming data from a subject for experts only into a familiar terrain for all our staff. “We have created a made-to-measure game based on the idea of bringing data into the everyday lives of every employee”, explains Yves Le Gélard, ENGIE’s Executive Vice-President in charge of Digital Technologies and Group Information Systems. “The game is very simple. One round of three questions, and in a fun, game-like way, we can learn and create a language common to all the employees.”  

 

The rules of the game by ENGIE

Step one: immersion. We have opened an intranet site where our employees can measure and improve their knowledge of data.
Step two: the game. For three weeks, every employee, from novices to experts, can compete with their colleagues in a smartphone application that sets three rounds of challenges. The eight selected themes explore the data-related issues at ENGIE: energy production, the customer experience, new technologies, support functions, regulatory questions, etc.
Step three: the rewards. On 7 December, the players who win the most challenges or whose names are drawn from the hat will receive their prizes: 10 electric bikes and 100 one-year unlimited music subscriptions.

 

Data: an essential subject for ENGIE

The Data Games are consolidating our position as a data-driven company, as Yves Le Gélard explains. “In our wind farms, we compare data on the types of turbines, the geographical position or the force of the wind, to strike the ideal balance between noise regulations and our energy production forecasts.” He continues: “For solar B2B applications, weather, marketing or operational data (battery charge levels, availability of the panels) can be used to decide whether to sell, use or store the electricity. On the business side, we also use data to design made-to-measure offers or to anticipate the levels of unsubscription” 
Collecting and analysing this data make it possible to gain a better understanding of customers, employees and suppliers. And, ultimately, to improve the Group’s performance. Since the launch of the DATA@ENGIE programme in 2018, “the business units have identified gains of more than €100 million, including savings of between 10% and 40% on predictive maintenance, and a decrease in the number of incidents of up to 25%. We have also improved our knowledge of our customers in order to better meet their needs and made an estimated €2.5 million of savings on resources.” 


 
So, data is not a field reserved for computer engineers and specialists only. On the contrary, data feeds every one of the company’s activities. With these three weeks of gaming, ENGIE is offering its employees an opportunity to join the data adventure, which is only just beginning.
 

We would like to know what you think about our content. Please, help us improve it by takin this survey.

GREEN IT

Sensibilisation à la data : et si on « datajouait ? »

Par ENGIE - 09 novembre 2020 - 11:24

C’est parti pour les Data Games chez ENGIE ! L'objectif ? Former les 170 000 collaboratrices et collaborateurs du Groupe à la data. La méthode ? Une compétition ludique en interne, … pour qu'il y ait un « avant » et un « après » Data Games chez ENGIE !

 

 

La data, un jeu d’expert(e)s ?

Prévisions météorologiques, achats en ligne… Les données sont partout dans notre vie quotidienne. Et au sein des entreprises, la quantité de données stockées et échangées a explosé, a fortiori avec les nouvelles règles de distanciation sociale. Seulement, si ce sujet se révèle stratégique, il pourrait sembler ardu. 
Pour être à l’aise avec ce sujet et avoir le « Réflexe data », ENGIE a choisi de miser sur la gamification. Aussi appelée « ludification », la gamification consiste à s’appuyer sur les mécanismes du jeu pour permettre plus facilement l’apprentissage et la sensibilisation sur des sujets complexes. 
L’enjeu des Data Games chez ENGIE ? Faire passer la data d’un sujet expert à un domaine familier pour les équipes. « Nous avons créé ce jeu sur-mesure avec l’idée de faire descendre la data dans le quotidien de chaque salarié, explique Yves Le Gélard, Directeur des systèmes d’information d'ENGIE. Le jeu est très facile : une manche, trois questions et de façon ludique, on apprend et on crée un langage commun à l’ensemble des salariés. » 


 
Les règles du jeu by ENGIE 

Première étape : l’immersion. Nous avons lancé un site Intranet pour aider nos salariés à mesurer et améliorer leurs connaissances sur la data.
Deuxième étape : le jeu. Pendant 3 semaines, chaque salarié, novice ou expert(e) peut défier ses collègues via une appli sur smartphone proposant des challenges en 3 manches. Les 8 thèmes retenus explorent les enjeux de la data pour ENGIE : production d’énergie, expérience client, nouvelles technologies, fonctions support, réglementaire…
Troisième étape : la récompense. Le 7 décembre, les joueurs ayant remporté le plus de défis ou ayant été tirés au sort recevront leurs prix : 10 vélos électriques et 100 abonnements d’un an de musique illimitée.


 
La data, une donnée incontournable pour ENGIE

Avec les Data Games, nous renforçons notre positionnement de « Data driven company », comme l'explique Yves Le Gélard : « Dans nos parcs éoliens, nous croisons les données sur le type de turbines, la position géographique ou encore la force du vent pour trouver l’équilibre idéal entre la réglementation du bruit et la production d’énergie attendue ». Il poursuit : « Pour les applications solaires B2B, les données météo, marketing ou opérationnelles (charge des batteries, disponibilité des panneaux) permettent de choisir entre la vente, l'utilisation ou le stockage de l'électricité. Côté business également, nous utilisons les données pour concevoir des offres sur-mesure ou anticiper les taux de désabonnement »
Cette data collectée et analysée permet donc de mieux comprendre les clients, employés et fournisseurs. Et in fine d’améliorer la performance du Groupe. Depuis le lancement en 2018 du programme DATA@ENGIE, « les Business Units ont identifié des gains de plus de 100 millions d’euros, dont 10 à 40 % d’économies sur la maintenance prédictive et une baisse du nombre d’incidents pouvant aller jusqu’à 25 %. Nous avons également pu améliorer la connaissance de nos clients et mieux répondre à leurs besoins, avec une économie de moyens évaluée à 2,5 millions d’euros »


 
La data n’est donc pas le domaine réservé des informaticiens ou des spécialistes. Au contraire, elle irrigue tous les métiers de l’entreprise. Et avec ces trois semaines de jeu, ENGIE offre à chacun de ses salariés l'opportunité de participer à l'aventure de la data… une aventure qui ne fait que commencer !
 

Votre avis sur nos contenus nous intéresse. Aidez-nous à les améliorer, en répondant à ce questionnaire.